Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   PTLE8 digitranslator (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=359539)

shacke 10-12-2014 03:12 PM

PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Hi, hope someone can help please. I tried downloading an OMF for the first time and got a message saying digitranslator is required. I then tried installing digitranslator from my installation disks and it installed ok. However when I tried starting PT, a message appeared saying the license wasn't found on my iLok. I tried another route and got this challenge/reponse page which had no other guidance on how to go about it. How do I install the option please?

nigelpry 10-12-2014 03:38 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
DigiTranslator is unlocked in PT8LE only by the presence of a Complete Production Toolkit iLok licence ... CPTK was a paid upgrade for PT LE that unlocked access to most PT HD features ... and DigiTranslator was a HD only feature at the time of PT8.

DigiTranslator functionality is included free in all versions of PT9.

It might also be unlocked by a DV toolkit licence ... I'm pretty sure it is, but can't remember for certain.

nst7 10-12-2014 07:37 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Actually this is not correct.

Neither the Complete Toolkit nor the DV Toolkit unlock the Digitranslator function in PT8. It is only unlocked by having a specific Digitranslator license on your Ilok.

Both the Complete and DV Toolkits were bundled with that license when they were sold at the time of PT8, but it was a separate Ilok license (just like the other bundled plugins).

So all he needs is a Digitranslator license (and he may need the installer as well, but that's already available on his disc). He may be able to find that used from someone for perhaps $50-75 since so many people have it and it was not needed after the release of PT9 and onward.

Just wanted to set the record straight, because if he bought a DV or Complete Toolkit Ilok license on its own, he still would be missing that functionality. But he could buy the Digitranslator license on its own and have what he needs.

To Shacke,

The fact that it's on the install discs does not mean it was free with PT8, as Digi/Avid would often include installers on the discs for separately purchased plugins just for the sake of convenience, though it also causes confusion, as you have found out.

So your choices are either to buy a used Digitranslator Ilok license from someone, or upgrade to any version of Protools 9 and up, as that functionality was from that point on built in to Protools standard.

nigelpry 10-12-2014 10:43 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
nst7,

Thanks very much for clearing that up.

I'd completely forgotten about that, it's been a long time since I bought CPTK.

It is true that from PT9 onwards, the omf/aaf import/export functionality is included as a standard part of Pro Tools though. You only need it in Pro Tools 8 (and earlier).

Here's a link to an ebay ad by a guy in Portugal selling a licence at the moment ... $150 + $25 iLok licence transfer fee.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Avid-Digitra...item35d3b76776

shacke 10-13-2014 08:06 AM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Thanks for your help guys.

nst7 10-13-2014 08:13 AM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Good find on the Ebay link, Nigel.

However, now that all this new licensing stuff has been announced, everything has changed.

At this point, for only $199, he could upgrade to PT11 and get 10 with it, plus the year of support. A few days ago this wouldn't have been nearly so cheap and now it's a no brainer vs. paying $150 for a Digitranslator license.

Of course this also assumes his computer and OS will be compatible.

shacke 10-13-2014 02:58 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
My Mac is 10.6.8 and not compatible with PT11, ditto my plug-ins. However, is it possible to get PT11 and only install PT10? Also where have you seen it for $199 seems to be $399 everywhere I've looked?

shacke 10-13-2014 03:29 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
I found the $199 upgrade offer which is a good price. does anyone know please whether I can get the PT11 and only install PT10? Thanks.

Obsidian Dragon 10-13-2014 03:48 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Yes. You may get PT11 and only install PT10.

shacke 10-13-2014 04:13 PM

Re: PTLE8 digitranslator
 
Thanks for that.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com