Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   UAD-2 Solo - How many iterations of the bundled plug-in can you run (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=268633)

FierceBrew 03-05-2010 01:29 PM

UAD-2 Solo - How many iterations of the bundled plug-in can you run
 
Hey everybody,

I am running a modded DIGI03 into a PC (still using XP) and am considering the UAD-2 SOLO or DUO Neve bundle to supplement by plug-in library and take some resources off of my CPU.

Does anybody have a info on how many plug-in iterations they are able to run on the SOLO and DUO cards. The price on these are high but I have heard really good things about the sound quality. I would love to tweak things track per track and not have to resort to busses on everything like I currently do.

Are there any compatability issues that anybody has run into using XP and a 32bit?

systemexclusive 03-06-2010 08:01 AM

Re: UAD-2 Solo - How many iterations of the bundled plug-in can you run
 
The more DSP power you have - the more plugins you can load and use simultaneously!!!

There is a setting in UAD Control Panel named "DSP LoadLock" which can be unchecked to increase number of plugin instances by skipping DSP power lock for inactive plugin modules (like switched off band on multi-band EQ)

Here is my UAD2Solo\Laptop statistics (number if instances; plugin; frequency):
  • 9 UAD RealVerb Pro (factory default preset) 44.1
  • 8 UAD RealVerb Pro (factory default preset) 48.0
  • 16 UAD PULTEC (factory default preset) 44.1
  • 14 UAD PULTEC (factory default preset) 48.0
  • 49 UAD 1176SE (factory default preset) 44.1
  • 45 UAD 1176SE (factory default preset) 48.0
  • 36 UAD Cambridge (Maser -> starter preset) 44.1
  • 33 UAD Cambridge (Maser -> starter preset) 48.0
  • 30 UAD Cambridge (factory default preset DSP LoadLock active) 44.1
  • 55 UAD Cambridge (factory default preset DSP LoadLock iNactive) 44.1

BTW: There is a DSP charts on UAD website, they are close to real word applications. Just visit UAD website or google them...

RiF 03-06-2010 01:18 PM

Re: UAD-2 Solo - How many iterations of the bundled plug-in can you run
 
The UAD Instance Chart gives you detailed information about how many instances of each UAD plugin you can expect to be able to run on the various UAD-cards UA offers.

yellowjacket 03-06-2010 05:27 PM

Re: UAD-2 Solo - How many iterations of the bundled plug-in can you run
 
Although the UAD cards work on all versions of Windows, XP 32-bit is the ideal OS to run them.

Since Pro Tools LE doesn't have automatic delay compensation, you will experience plug-in latency when using UAD plug-ins. Having to manually compensate for this is something you'll want to take into account before making your purchase. All UAD-2 cards come with Mellowmuse Auto-Time Adjuster for Pro Tools. Check out their website to see how to use the plug-in to compensate for the delay.

http://www.mellowmuse.com/ATA.html

This is a little tedious to do, but works wonderfully once you have it all working. Many times, I'll use the Producer Factory Pro equivalents just so I don't have to do this.

The UAD platform also costs a lot to get into at first, but will probably be OK if you went with the UAD-2 Duo Neve system. I'm a couple grand invested now and won't be turning back any time soon.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com