Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   Video Engine Problems with Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=342276)

mrhood 07-24-2013 01:26 PM

Video Engine Problems with Pro Tools 11
 
Hi

First post here, hope you guys can help!

I get this error when trying to enable the video engine in Playback Engine (Pro Tools 11 Vanilla). It loads a progress bar and a message: "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" and does nothing when it completes and I then need to hit cancel to continue using PT. Everything else in PT works fine.

I've tried this with PT 11.0.0 on a Mac Pro 2008 8 Core as well as an i7 Hackintosh (both on 10.8.4) with the same problems. Re-installed PT with no luck. Next option is to download 11.01 update.

I've searched the Avid forums and all I could find was an error with Media Composer been installed with PT 11 where the AMA Plugins needed to be deleted and then the error was resolved, but I do not have MC, so I'm stumped.

Any ideas ?

EDIT: So now 1 year on and no change whatsoever. Tried all the updates from Avid and suggestions from other users to "trick" PT 11 into loading the video engine. Nada... PT 10 is still fine.

This is my last Pro Tools purchase.

Thanks all for your help, but I won't be participating here anymore.

Cheers
Robin

mrhood 07-25-2013 01:22 AM

Re: "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error
 
Tried 11.0.1. Same problem. Can't import a simple Quicktime movie (16 MB) for music to video because of this. Logic 9 and X as well as Cubase 7 have no problems importing this video.

Is there a way to contact Avid for support? I tried their main support page but it states that no active ASC Codes found and I will need to purchase one?

Purchased the upgrade to 10 with a free update to 11. Does this not qualify for any free support?

ak.schille 07-26-2013 02:07 AM

Re: "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error
 
I have the same problem. Everything worked fine on tuesday but when I came back to work on wednesday Pro Tools would not play back the video files it played the day before and I was unable to online any of the video tracks. When I tried to activate a track I got a spinning wheel for a while and then nothing. Audio plays back fine.

Tried rebooting everything to no avail. I then went to Playback Enginge and unchecked Video Engine, but when I then tried to check it again it starts launching but when the progress bar is full it just sits there until i hit cancel.

Tried with different projects that worked a few days ago and have also checked with PT10 where everything works fine.


Pro Tools 11HD 11.0.1
Mac Pro
Software OS X 10.8.4 (12E55)
Processor 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 12 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB

asterix2k10 07-27-2013 02:26 AM

Video Engine won't load in PT11?
 
When I try to load PT 11 HD with a video it says the video engine is disabled and asks me if I want to enable it. I say yes, but then it freezes and I have to quit.

Chief Technician 07-27-2013 03:35 AM

Re: Video Engine won't load in PT11?
 
Did you ever have Media Composer or Symphony installed on the same computer? What are your system specifications?

mrhood 07-27-2013 05:48 AM

Re: Video Engine won't load in PT11?
 
Same problem here. Works in 10, not in 11 Vanilla. No Media Composer or Symphony.

Everything else works no problem on 2008 Mac Pro and i7 Hackintosh both with ML 10.8.4. Also does not work in Bootcamp Windows 7 on both machines.

mrhood 07-27-2013 05:52 AM

Re: "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error
 
Haven't got it to work since installing 11. Worked fine in 10.

AudioEngineer591 07-27-2013 07:38 AM

Re: "Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error
 
I have the same problem. The video works in pro tools10 but not in pro tools 11. Everything else works on pro tools 11 except video. Avid is becoming the biggest joke ever. Its has the same video error in both windows 7 & 8.

asterix2k10 07-27-2013 07:55 AM

Re: Video Engine won't load in PT11?
 
I dont have Symphony or Media Composer installed. My system is a mid 2011 27" iMac (12,2) with 12gb ram, Native Thunderbolt HD interface to Apogee Symphony IO 8x8x8. Using a Glyph GT050Q drive connected to FW800.

Chief Technician 07-27-2013 07:57 AM

Re: Video Engine won't load in PT11?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by asterix2k10 (Post 2067311)
I dont have Symphony or Media Composer installed.

Did you ever have Symphony or Media Composer installed? This is important to know.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com