Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   need help with HD components (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=272019)

FMR_Crisis 04-17-2010 03:39 PM

need help with HD components

Hello, I am new to the world of recording and I have a few questions. I really want to get protools HD but I dont know all what I need, I also spend a decent amount of time on the website and the online store but I cannot find the price for protools HD1?. I have a iMac and my question is after i buy protools HD 1 is there anything else I need to buy besides a Mic, like a preamp or a mixer?.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Cheers,

Crisis

Keybeeetsss 04-17-2010 03:51 PM

Re: need help with HD components

I don't believe u Can do HD with an iMac...

FMR_Crisis 04-17-2010 03:57 PM

Do you know what kind of computer I need to run protools HD?

Keybeeetsss 04-17-2010 04:01 PM

Honestly jus about any Desktop newer Mac besides the iMac; Even the older G5's but then ur stuck with PPC & can only go so far' can I ask what makes u feel u want or need HD? What type of work do u do as far as music etc...

FMR_Crisis 04-17-2010 04:02 PM

I just want to know all that I need to set up a home studio with that commercial sound? any info would be great!

FMR_Crisis 04-17-2010 04:04 PM

I am going to be doing Hiphop/RnB, I just want that professional sound to compete with other artists.

Keybeeetsss 04-17-2010 04:08 PM

Having HD nor PT means u will hav a professional or commercial sound; so I'm jus sayin that to say, think about & consider a lot before u fork over that kind of money b|c @ this point u still need to spend a couple to a few thousand on a computer if u want to stay MAC...

FMR_Crisis 04-17-2010 04:18 PM

ya i kno that so are we talkin about maybe $4,000+ to get a new comp and prtools HD roughly ?

Keybeeetsss 04-17-2010 04:22 PM