Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Digi 002 Standalone external clock and blinking indicator. (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411564)

Koyote 08-20-2020 02:23 AM

Digi 002 Standalone external clock and blinking indicator.
 
Hello.

Recently I got some pieces of old audio equipment for free and among other things, there were 2 audio interfaces - Digi 003 Rack and Digi 002 Console.
Sure I decided to connect both interfaces via ADAT to get 16 channels for recording.
So now Digi 003 Rack is connected to PC via firewire. PC is Windows 7 32-bit, installed Pro Tools LE 8.0.5. Driver is 8.0.4.beta - I'm using Cubase mostly.
And Digi 002 Console in Standalone mode is connected to Digi 003 via ADAT.

After reading user manuals it turned out that there is no way to set sample rate to 48kHz manually on Digi 002 Console. It need to be clocked externally via S/PDIF cable.
So I used coaxial RCA cable from 003's S/PDIF-out to 002's S/PDIF-in.
Cable is 1m length, non-brand, but all copper core and shield. Cable continuity testing passed, no shorts.

I've set 003's sample rate to 48kHz, set 003's clock source to internal, set 003's optical to ADAT, set 002's clock source to S/PDIF. Set session to 48/24.
002's sample rate indicator switched to 48kHz, but start blinking. According to user manual - blinking indicator is not good: either there is no signal or the signal is bad.
Ok, but I tried to record few lengthy 16 channel sessions - and there are no pops, clicks, etc. All is good. But indicator continue blinking...

I spent some time reading forums - with "bad" clocking I should get clearly distinguishable pops, clicks, etc. Which I do not hear.
Also 002 do understand that I want 48kHz (and not other sample rate) and switching indicator to 48kHz.
The only problem that it keep blinking this led.

Has anyone tried to feed clock to 002 in Standalone mode? Whether the indicator was blinking or was steady?
Can it be just misprint in user manual or be firmware related?
I've ordered new brand coaxial RCA cable for further investigations, but delivery will be only in few weeks.

albee1952 08-25-2020 01:25 PM

Re: Digi 002 Standalone external clock and blinking indicator.
 
As much as you want this to work, its really not a good way to do it. I would remove the 002 from the setup. Once the 003 is fully functional, sell the 002 and use the money to get an 8 channel preamp with lightpipe (ADAT) connections(and WORDCLOCK would be nice). The 002 is not designed to act the way you are trying to have it do(the "stand alone" mode was designed so you could use it as a small digital mixer in a live setup). Suitable lightpipe preamps are available at all price points and here's a list that I have used:
1-Behringer ADA8200(the red one), sounds better than 002 and is a bargain
2-Behringer ADA8000(the silver one), even cheaper but not as good
3-Presonus D8- works fine, but is not worth the extra $$ to me
4-Focusrite OctoPre-also works fine, but also not worth the extra $$
5-Focusrite ISA-428/828 w/option card, really great, but way too much $$
6-Midas XL-48, Amazing on drums and the best option of price vs quality

With any of these options, you will be able to clock your system properly and avoid the headaches you now have. The 003 can slave to any of these by using the Optical(ADAT) input as the clock source, or leave the 003 as the master and send WORDCLOCK to the lightpipe preamp(and set it to use external clock). I know there are several other options that could have made the list, but none are significantly better(quality or price) unless you find a super deal;)

Koyote 08-30-2020 10:56 PM

Re: Digi 002 Standalone external clock and blinking indicator.
 
Got new cable.
This silly led still blinking. But system still working.
Will assume that this is what was intended.

albee1952 09-01-2020 02:12 PM

Re: Digi 002 Standalone external clock and blinking indicator.
 
Probably. As long as you don't hear clicks and pops from the digital paths, then clocking must be okay. Improper clocking is really obvious as it will either click and pop a lot, or not work at all(seen both scenarios during my days of using lightpipe connections).:o You're still missing a ton of good features by sticking with LE software:-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com