Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   PT 11 HDX upgrade Too Expensive right now (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=355577)

Avgerinos 06-17-2014 10:37 AM

PT 11 HDX upgrade Too Expensive right now

Greetings fellow audio pros,

I've been running a pro studio for 28 years now Studio Unicorn
with a great HD3 excel system and a HUGE plug in arsenal .
Looking at around $15,000 to have ALMOST everything I have right now crossgrading to PT 11 HDX.

Can I charge more - No Way . Already at the top rate in CT.
Have any clients mentioned any of this - No Way -

Hard to justify from a business point of view.
If it comes to 8-$10,000 in a few years, maybe then it MIGHT make sense.
Early adopters always pay TOP dollar and suffer all the bugs and glitches.

All the technical improvements are completely INCREMENTAL so I consider this a Crossgrade, not an upgrade,
and 15K for a Crossgrade is real rich.
Its not going to make you a better musician, composer or producer.

It reminds of the time when we went from Mix 24 to HD.
Very painful for a lot of folks . . .

How do you other professionals feel about this ?

Paul Avgerinos
Studio Unicorn / Round Sky Music
Redding, CT

Philthy 06-17-2014 10:47 AM

Re: PT 11 HDX upgrade Too Expensive right now

Hi Paul, we're right around the corner from you in Manchester, CT. Still running an HD system with PT 7.4. When we get around to upgrading I think it will be to v10 with a hackintosh. There is nothing compelling about HDX for a small music studio in this market. And you are right; the clients don't care. If I bothered to ask them, I bet 100% would prefer we keep our prices lower rather than upgrade our DAW for $5 figures.

Avgerinos 06-17-2014 10:54 AM

Hi Phil,