Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Help Setting Up Playback Engine (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=202721)

hearttimes 08-03-2007 05:33 PM

Help Setting Up Playback Engine
 
might someone help a noob with understanding how to work the playback engine preferences? after reading the users guide, i am still unclear as to why i would, say for example, choose 48 voices 3 dsp's versus 96 voices 3 dsp's. Or why i might choose 96 voices 2 dsps over 96 voices 3 dsps.

what is the factory default setting for this window?


kind regards

Craig F 08-03-2007 05:45 PM

Re: Help Setting Up Playback Engine
 
it mostly has to due w/ data bandwidth inside the computer and track edit density

(overly simplified)
if you have heavy edit density and less than optimal bandwidth using the extra DSP chip also adds the chips memory cache to the buffering of getting data off of the drive(s) fast enough


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com