Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2019 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Midi export fil (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=410157)

Samba 05-12-2020 07:25 PM

Midi export fil
 
Hi,

Does anyone know how to export a midi file, without it exporting any other file I have on the same track?
I should be able to export a small clip? Currently, any time I export a small midi file, it exports the file, but it comes as as large as the largest file in the session.

There's very little in Avid's midi section in the help guide, and contacting Avid support is useless

musicman691 05-13-2020 03:13 AM

Re: Midi export fil
 
I don't know that you can directly export a single clip that's part of a longer track. What you could try is to create a separate MIDI track and move/paste the clip you want to that track and export THAT track.

Samba 05-13-2020 06:06 AM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2565480)
I don't know that you can directly export a single clip that's part of a longer track. What you could try is to create a separate MIDI track and move/paste the clip you want to that track and export THAT track.

Thank you, Yeah even if I do that, it doesn't work. It still exports the small file, but it is big as the biggest file in the session.

I can't believe Avid have basically no motivation to offer good support. What kind of company do they want to be? I know of NO other company that treats customers like Avid does.

Samba 05-13-2020 05:48 PM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2565480)
I don't know that you can directly export a single clip that's part of a longer track. What you could try is to create a separate MIDI track and move/paste the clip you want to that track and export THAT track.

If you were to attempt to get someone from Avid to answer this question, regarding why midi exporting isn't working, how would you go about it? Like - considering the price of Avid's products, how would you, having paid a large amount of money to this company, request support and feel confident someone at that company will bother to respond?

musicman691 05-14-2020 03:20 AM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Samba (Post 2565548)
If you were to attempt to get someone from Avid to answer this question, regarding why midi exporting isn't working, how would you go about it? Like - considering the price of Avid's products, how would you, having paid a large amount of money to this company, request support and feel confident someone at that company will bother to respond?

Go to your Avid account and look for 'support portal' I think it's called. If you have an active support plan you should be able to get help.

Samba 05-14-2020 07:01 PM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2565574)
Go to your Avid account and look for 'support portal' I think it's called. If you have an active support plan you should be able to get help.

If only it was that simple.

The Avid Advantage Support link does not provide an option to purchase support. It does give a link to try to find out if I'm already entitled to support, but this link goes nowhere

musicman691 05-15-2020 03:40 AM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Samba (Post 2565688)
If only it was that simple.

The Avid Advantage Support link does not provide an option to purchase support. It does give a link to try to find out if I'm already entitled to support, but this link goes nowhere

Try a different browser and allow cookies. The system does work. Do you have an active support plan or not? You would know this from the license asset you have. Are you on a subscription or a yearly PT license?

Samba 05-15-2020 11:13 PM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2565709)
Try a different browser and allow cookies. The system does work. Do you have an active support plan or not? You would know this from the license asset you have. Are you on a subscription or a yearly PT license?

Ok, cheers, I'll try a different browser.

I am on a subscription - monthly payments.

I honestly can't see this info in my account, so I can't tell you if I have a support plan or not. At the end of the day, It's been a few weeks, and I'm still none the wiser as to why midi export is not working. Does Avid have a head of public relations I could contact to ask if he/she cares at all?!

Edit: Just tried a different browser - Safari and allowed cookies. Still no joy

walter rohrbach 05-18-2020 08:24 AM

Re: Midi export fil
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Samba (Post 2565483)
Thank you, Yeah even if I do that, it doesn't work. It still exports the small file, but it is big as the biggest file in the session.

I can't believe Avid have basically no motivation to offer good support. What kind of company do they want to be? I know of NO other company that treats customers like Avid does.

I am waiting for such export since the day DIGIDESIGN implemented MIDI into Pro Tools. It never happened……no idea why :confused:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com