Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | S6 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   S6 M10 replaced by S4 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405677)

Jamie Mac 07-18-2019 01:06 PM

S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Hi Eddie (or others at AVID)

At first I was very excited to see a scaled down version of the S6 for the, as you market it, budget-conscious studios and customers.

But after seeing the pricing and the news that this is effectively a replacement for the M10 line, I can't but notice that there is some very dubious marketing going on.

You cannot say that something is a "budget friendly S6" when it is more expensive or similarly priced to the product it is replacing, while being a cut down version of the product it has replaced.

Some more info would be greatly appreciated.

BScout 07-18-2019 01:23 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamie Mac (Post 2533107)
You cannot say that something is a "budget friendly S6" when it is more expensive or similarly priced to the product it is replacing, while being a cut down version of the product it has replaced.

How is it a cutdown of the M10 config? The M10 config couldn't use displays and wasn't expandable really (limited). The only question on the S4 is the ability to use process modules.

Jamie Mac 07-18-2019 02:00 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Pro-tools-expert reported s3 style faders.

EddieJones 07-19-2019 11:36 AM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
The S4 is new and although the M10 is going away it wasn't meant as a direct replacement but more of a lower cost of entry that can have displays, is smaller, more portable and easier to assemble.

Its true that the 8 fader is slight more than the 8 fader M10 but the 16 and 24 versions are lower cost. Now if you compare to the M40 which also allows displays the difference jumps to over $20k. So 4 out of 5 comparable models it is less expensive.

Yes it does share its faders with the S3 (which most think are great) but it also has the new rake angle, you also get free blanks and power/Ethernet pre wired (all cost options on S6)

Southsidemusic 07-19-2019 11:42 AM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by EddieJones (Post 2533186)

Yes it does share its faders with the S3 (which are not that bad)

Sounds promising when you pay almost $50K and get faders that
”are not that bad” :D

Ok I updated it ;-)

TrackerLe 07-19-2019 11:58 AM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
ähm s3 Faders for a control surface, which should replace the s6 M10...and is more expensive...Pls clarification

EddieJones 07-19-2019 12:09 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TrackerLe (Post 2533192)
ähm s3 Faders for a control surface, which should replace the s6 M10...and is more expensive...Pls clarification

I'm not sure of the question. Please see my post above about it not actually being more expensive.

Jamie Mac 07-19-2019 01:31 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
Thanks for the info Eddie,

Most mixers I know find the faders the most important aspect of the S6.
Those ALPS faders of the s3 don’t belong on a piece of equipment with that pricetag, in my opinion. And it is the number one reason I won’t ever get one.
I want to upgrade my S3, which is okay, except the horrible faders.
Now you have a huge gap in the market between the s3 and the m40, which the s4 does not fill.

Serge Perron 07-19-2019 01:57 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
As an S10 owner, I have to re-evaluate my investment. Not feeling very secure at the moment. I'm asking: when will Avid choose to drop support for it? Will the entire S6 line be discontinued sooner than people realize? What is Avid telling enterprise-level owners of M10s? The expensive M10+ option is of no comfort to me. Does an M10+ = M40? Will Avid drop support even if I were to upgrade to M10+?


What is the MSRP for S4 displays?

BScout 07-19-2019 03:06 PM

Re: S6 M10 replaced by S4
 
It's been mentioned the S6-M10 will be supported as long as the S6-M40

The displays are the same cost as for the S6-M40 (because they are the same displays) for both M10 and S4

The S6-M10+ option dings you with $3k license charge to support the displays but then you add the price of the first new display on top to get around $10k. This is in the press release.

An S6-M40 is not the same as the S6-M10+ because the M10+ still has the same (current) limited expandability (also found in the press release for the + option since it's mentioned with how many displays can be added.)

Highly doubtful the S6 will be dropped anytime soon. Bigger facilities are just putting them in now still and it's still in its adolescence. There are so many features that are being added still (and stuff from the Icons still aren't there.)
Plus Avid has a guarantee of prolonged support for the surfaces after EOL by at least 5 years (it may be 10 years after EOL)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com