Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Dock (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Input monitoring button in Dock (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=398365)

Maro Records 04-02-2018 01:13 PM

Input monitoring button in Dock
 
Hi there
I go deeper and deeper into using a Dock with Artist Mixes, and day by day I find myself more and more happy with my workflow.
But I think that one basic functionality is still missing in the surface - Input Monitoring...
First thought coming in my mind is to have it under Rec button ( with holding SHIFT ) instead of Automation Modes. I suppose that all Dock users prefer to hit dedicated buttons on the left side anyway. So, this doubled funcionality is not necessarily needed.
I would suggest to give a choice between Auto Modes and Input Mon under Preferences. It could work globally for all eucon surfaces - I think that during recording sessions Artist Mix users definitely would prefer to have a quick acces to Input Mon than Auto Modes.
What do you think guys?
Eddie ?

BScout 04-02-2018 01:24 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
From the Dock, you can do it from the iPad. It's a workaround for now though not as nice as tactile buttons. There's also a version in the lower soft keys that can be pressed from the Dock ("Input Mon Tracks w/ Selection"). You could also put it as a soft key directly (Shift+I and use the "do to all"/"do to sel")

For the Artist Mix (and probably the Dock) there was talk in the forum of possibly a two button press. It's definitely on their radar to add. If you search, you'll find the conversation. (I doubt the automation buttons would be used -- they are devoted to so much already)

A long requested feature nonetheless.

Neale 04-02-2018 06:09 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
6 years and counting? I donít want to have it depend on region selection. Itís a track command, it should be relevant to the selected track. I should not have lost this functionality coming from the ancient Command 8.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=330688

BScout 04-02-2018 06:25 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
From the iPad in the Dock,
  • On the Mixer view, you can click "I" on tracks.
  • On the Tracks view, you click "input" above the softkeys and then click which tracks you'd like to toggle on/off input.
  • On the Tracks or Channel view, you can pull up the single attentioned fader and click the "I" to input enable.

Anthony_Anz 04-03-2018 01:49 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
I'd love to see a tactile button combo for this as well on the Dock and S3. For now you can assign one of the touch strip buttons to input monitor. As mentioned you can prefix the command with "Do to Selected" if you want to input monitor all of the selected tracks.

Neale 04-03-2018 07:38 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Anthony_Anz (Post 2483084)
I'd love to see a tactile button combo for this as well on the Dock and S3. For now you can assign one of the touch strip buttons to input monitor. As mentioned you can prefix the command with "Do to Selected" if you want to input monitor all of the selected tracks.

How do you assign the input monitoring command to the Dock touch strip? I have asked for this command from support so I can map it to a custom soft key on my Artist Control as I cannot find it in the list of Eucon commands, but Iíve had no responses. All I have access to is input monitoring for a track where a region is selected rather than an entire selected track.

Sorry for derailing!

Anthony_Anz 04-06-2018 08:54 AM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
Hey Neale, under Transport >> Record you'll find "Input Monitor Tracks with Selection"

that should enable input monitoring for all tracks that are selected.

does that help?

Neale 04-06-2018 10:57 AM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
Unfortunately not. I'm looking at setting the input monitoring on a per-track basis, just like solo/mute/record arm. "Input Monitor Tracks with Selection" only toggles tracks with a region selection on it rather than a track selection. This was available on my old Command 8, mystifyingly not today via EUCON, neither as a pre-mapped command nor as something I can find to custom map myself to a softkey.

I just thought maybe you were suggesting that there WAS a command for that that Dock users could use, so maybe I could use it myself for my Artist Control.

Again, sorry for the derail. Back to the Dock folks. There's a whole other thread about my issue dating back to 2012 here if you want to post on this other issue there:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=330688

Maro Records 04-06-2018 12:04 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
Well, I found that the quickest way to access Input Mon on an attentioned track (not selected regions) is hitting softkey button for single fader on iPad (in left upper corner) and touching "I".
I could even live with it - really fast way to do that on a Dock .;)

docric 04-08-2018 01:11 PM

Re: Input monitoring button in Dock
 
I'd love to see this function on the Dock's surface also.
Regularly reaching to Input Mon. enable & always frustrated by having to do it from the Control App.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com