Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=217764)

Dowski 03-12-2008 05:31 PM

Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer
 
Ok here goes - hopefully some kind and awesome soul has the answer! I have a G4 w/ digi001, One pair of monitors and one 18 channel mixer (all my synths go into the mixer as well). The mixer is connected to: the main outs on the 001 (channels 1 &2 on the mixer), the front two inputs on the 001 for tracking (sub outs 1&2 on the mixer) and to the monitors (control monitor outs on the mixer). I just bought a Mac Pro w/ 003 and I'm trying to figure out how to connect it to my current set up so I don't have to keep disconnecting the 001. Any idears? Is it as simple as taking the 3rd and 4th (or whichever tracks) on the mixer, putting them into the main outs of the 003 and connecting any two Sub outs on the mixer to any two inputs on the 003?
Essentially the equation looks like = 001+003+ one pair of monitors + mixer =????

The Patch Chord 03-13-2008 03:57 AM

Re: Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mixer
 
Hi Dowski, I have a similar setup. I use an 002r on a Mac Pro Quad along with an 001 in a G4 450. I connect them using a pair of ADAT cables and use the 001 pretty much just for additional inputs if I need them. My main A/D D/A I/O I use the 002 for and simply run out if it into an analog 8 bus mixer.

There are some clever things you can do with routing back and forth on the light pipe and using the 001 analog I/O for outboard goodies, but honestly with the horse power of the Mac Pro, I really don't have to be too creative in that regard. In the old days with the 002 on a dual G4 there were some reasons to experiment, but not so much anymore.

The 001 and the 002 play nice via the ADAT cable. I clock them both from the 002. You can send your 001 audio out the light pipe into aux tracks on the 002 if you just want to use the 002 analog I/O or you can continue to connect 001 analog I/O directly to the mixer. I have mine set up to do both without having to re patch anything.

In your post you said...

<< Is it as simple as taking the 3rd and 4th (or whichever tracks) on the mixer, putting them into the main outs of the 003 and connecting any two Sub outs on the mixer to any two inputs on the 003?

Frankly, Yes, it can be that simple. Be sure to be mindful of your sub group assignments to avoid feedback issues.

And to phrase it properly, you're taking the 003 outputs and putting them into the 3rd & 4th input channels of the mixer. Remember you're signal flow, it's always from & to. Outs to Ins, never ins to outs.

I hope that helps or makes sense. Lack of sleep may be making me goofy.

Good luck.

Dowski 03-13-2008 09:21 AM

Re: Complicated routing question involving 001, 003 and a mi
 
Thank you, Sir! Greatly appreciated! You just saved me $300!!! Thanks!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com