Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=410166)

snowplaysmusic 05-13-2020 12:41 PM

Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point
 
I often have a clip that holds a verse, and the end of the clip boundary marks the end of the verse. At that point I want a smooth second recording to transition to, let's say, a chorus. So I position my cursor at the clip boundary. Record enable. Add some pre-roll. Hit record and play the same part during pre-roll, so when the recorded spot kicks in, there's similar waveform and less edit noise. Though sometimes I miss the downbeat by playing a tad early. In that case I miss the transient in the second take. What can I do here? I do not see any way to fix this if the transient was just not recorded. Is my workflow common or weird for this use case?

albee1952 05-13-2020 03:33 PM

Re: Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point
 
If you use quick-punch, once you record a take, you can drag the font of the new clip back(IOW, it was recording even before you punched in).

snowplaysmusic 05-13-2020 06:43 PM

Re: Missing the beginning transient at a double take edit point
 
Oh this is amazing, thank you. I found this reading helpful https://www.soundonsound.com/techniq...ch-track-punch


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com