Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Identical Crash threads.... (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=235076)

TCDet 12-30-2008 08:44 AM

Identical Crash threads....
 
A variety of tasks all gave me the same crash thread info (At different thread numbers)

All were Thread (X) (i.e. 23,26,25...)
Firewire record drive 250Gb less than half used.
(?FWAudioCallback?) settings to change?

(Before and after clean install)
Mac G5 Dual 2.7 PPC 6Gb, OS 10.5.5, PT's 8.0

Thread 25 Crashed:
0 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2be4c FWAudioCallback + 209876
1 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2c430 FWAudioCallback + 211384
2 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2c430 FWAudioCallback + 211384
3 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2d184 FWAudioCallback + 214796
4 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2caf8 FWAudioCallback + 213120
5 ...gn.framework.CoreFoundation 0x00447208 Sys_RawThreadTask::Run() + 60
6 ...gn.framework.CoreFoundation 0x00469a64 Sys_RawThread::Destroy(Sys_RawThread*&) + 356
7 ...n.framework.PlatformSupport 0x002f6d9c PSHardware_Sync() + 16988
8 libSystem.B.dylib 0x94123658 _pthread_start + 316

Chief Technician 12-30-2008 09:12 AM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Have you tried disconnecting all firewire peripherals?

CHRIS AIKEN 12-30-2008 06:15 PM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Just got this myself....any ideas what it is?

Pts 8 g5 dual core 2.3 8 gigs ram 10.5.5 fresh install. Audio drive on the internal bus however I did have two firewire drives mounted at the time.

DigiTechSupt 12-31-2008 10:12 AM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
We're having this looked into. Can anyone experiencing this please post complete system specs?

TCDet 01-01-2009 04:09 AM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Interesting to note, Pro Tools does re-launch not from the pop-up report / relaunch but will from the dock.
Also each time if opening from a recovered back up the tool placements are back to default positions and view. (Universe etc...)

CHRIS AIKEN 01-01-2009 12:47 PM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
I have a G5 dual core 2.3 with 8 gigs of ram. 10.5.5 Protools 8 / Internal 500 gig audio drive- two firewire drives used for backup only.

Pt HD3 accel PCIe
Procontrol with one fader pack.
Aurora 16 converter


Let me know what else you need.

Thanks,
Chris

CHRIS AIKEN 01-04-2009 01:01 PM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Here's another one...

Thread 23 Crashed:
0 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2be4c FWAudioCallback + 209876
1 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2c430 FWAudioCallback + 211384
2 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2c430 FWAudioCallback + 211384
3 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2d184 FWAudioCallback + 214796
4 com.digidesign.framework.DAE 0x03f2caf8 FWAudioCallback + 213120
5 ...gn.framework.CoreFoundation 0x00447208 Sys_RawThreadTask::Run() + 60
6 ...gn.framework.CoreFoundation 0x00469a64 Sys_RawThread::Destroy(Sys_RawThread*&) + 356
7 ...n.framework.PlatformSupport 0x002f6d9c PSHardware_Sync() + 16988
8 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9461e658 _pthread_start + 316


I've had about 4 of these in the last 2 days. The audio loops for a few seconds then it crashes.

Any ideas?

G5 dual core 2.3 8 gigs of ram
10.5.5 Protools 8
Internal 500 gig audio drive
Pt HD3 accel PCIe
Procontrol with one fader pack
Aurora 16 converter

TCDet 01-05-2009 06:56 AM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Yes, audio loops then crash.

Working smooth up to this point.
No VI's active.

I've also noted that HUI faders upon relaunch loose the return feed. i.e. transport hui control works but the peripheral pop up can't find comes up. Full restart is the only way back. A rescan of core midi doesn't re-link.
(Same if selecting Motor Mix)

Dual 2.7, 6Gb ram, OS 10.5.5, Fast lane>HUI, PT's 8HD (DVD clean install)
Lacie FW800 external record drives.

DigiTechSupt 01-05-2009 08:40 AM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chrisaiken (Post 1327265)
I have a G5 dual core 2.3 with 8 gigs of ram. 10.5.5 Protools 8 / Internal 500 gig audio drive- two firewire drives used for backup only.

Pt HD3 accel PCIe
Procontrol with one fader pack.
Aurora 16 converter


Let me know what else you need.

Here's what we need:


Computer model and processor speed
OS version
Pro Tools version
Amount of RAM installed
Any attached peripherals (hard drives, video devices, other firewire or USB devices that may be attached, etc)
Number and type (firewire, SATA, SCSI, etc) of drives installed
Which of the drive(s) are being used for recording and playback
A concise list of the troubleshooting you've already tried - please be as specific as possible! The first thing we'll ask is 'Have you done everything in the Setup and General Troubleshooting thread?', so we'll want to know that you've done ALL of it and, if you've not done everything, we need to know what you have or have not done, as this can have a huge impact on further troubleshooting.

CHRIS AIKEN 01-07-2009 05:35 PM

Re: Identical Crash threads....
 
Here ya go, hope it helps....


Computer model and processor speed - G5 Dual Core 2.3

OS version- 10.5.5

Pro Tools version - Pts 8 HD with an aurora 16 interface.

Amount of RAM installed - 8 gigs

Any attached peripherals (hard drives, video devices, other firewire or USB devices that may be attached, etc)- Two firewire hard drives attached. Also using a Procontrol with one fader pack. MOTU Midi Time piece.

Number and type (firewire, SATA, SCSI, etc) of drives installed- Two internal SATA drives and two firewire drives. The second (non system) internal drive is used for audio recording. The two firewire drives are used as back and for streaming samples.

Which of the drive(s) are being used for recording and playback- see above

A concise list of the troubleshooting you've already tried - please be as specific as possible! The first thing we'll ask is 'Have you done everything in the Setup and General Troubleshooting thread?', so we'll want to know that you've done ALL of it and, if you've not done everything, we need to know what you have or have not done, as this can have a huge impact on further troubleshooting.- I have my system setup according to your setup specs. I've tried trashing all preferences and repairing permissions.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com