Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=392831)

Bulley 08-03-2017 03:14 AM

I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
Hi,

So I've moved over from Mac to Win10 in the past few months and found that every single PSP plugin I've got (VintageWarmer 2, Fetpressor, Springbox, NobleQ, The EMT reverb demo as well) crashes Pro Tools in busy sessions with an

"Access Violation occured, unable to read location: 0xFFFFFFFFC4280470"

Usually happens when I try to alter a parameter in the GUI, or recall a preset.

Not had much success with PSP support, who didn't have many suggestions apart from trashing prefs and reinstalling. They're all latest versions, done the usual win 10 audio tweaks.
Anyone else having success or issues with PSP in Pro Tools 12.8?

Cheers,

abc1mce2 08-03-2017 02:30 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
Not an actual crash but If I adjust a control on any of the 5 PSP products I tested, the transport controls via the keyboard become disabled. I can click on a control in the transport control window and it'll function as expected always. Once I stop the transport via the transport window I'm able to use the keyboard for transport control again. Of course, if I adjust a PSP plugin control, the keyboard's transport functions are disabled again. Also, the Pro Tools Dock functions as normal regardless of the PSP plugins.

Greg M 08-03-2017 10:00 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
I have all of the PSP plugins and don't have issues with hardly any of them. The only ones I have had any issues with are some of the very old ones that haven't been updated in a long time (and I almost never use them anymore).

Vintage Warmer 2 I use daily without issue. I use the plugins listed in bulley's post without issue.

Not sure what's going on with your system but you might try trashing preferences and checking your PSP account for updated plugins.

Hope this helps,
Greg

amagras 08-03-2017 10:53 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
Also make sure to have the latest video drivers for your system.

abc1mce2 08-06-2017 08:03 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
Also if I click anywhere else on the screen other than the PSP plugin I can use my keyboard transport controls again. If I move a control knob on any PSP plugin I have to click somewhere else on my PT screen again to enable the keyboards transport controls again....yes all on my drives and PSP plugins are up to date.

Even with all of this, it's not much of a problem cause I use the transport controls on my PT Dock.

Greg M 08-07-2017 09:56 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
abc1mce2,

Can you provide the component list of your computer (similar to what I have in my signature) or a Sandra report. What video card are you using?

My experience with PSP plugins is very different than yours. A little more detail about your computer would be helpful.

Greg

Plec 09-18-2017 07:14 PM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
I have exactly the same issue, replicated on both my Win7 and Win10 systems. In busy sessions PSP just breaks down and freezes the entire session and crashes ProTools with that error message.

I've just put in an entire day to figure this out but I can't seem to solve it. I've trashed preferences, and recreated the sessions using ISD to new sessions and all is working great until that one extra PSP plugin creeps in that just puts everything over the top and it crashes.. every single time!

Bulley 09-19-2017 03:17 AM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
Glad to hear I'm not alone. I've been talking to PSP and Avid about it but I've not got anywhere yet. I've just had to abandon all PSP stuff for now.

Bulley 09-19-2017 03:19 AM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
I wonder if it's a conflict somewhere, there's a lot of Plugin Alliance, Soundtoys and Slate stuff in most of my sessions.

wonder6oy 09-28-2017 10:24 AM

Re: I can't use any PSP plugins in PT12 - Win 10
 
I am having this exact same issue on a Windows 10/PT12 system. Not usable here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bulley (Post 2443635)
Hi,

So I've moved over from Mac to Win10 in the past few months and found that every single PSP plugin I've got (VintageWarmer 2, Fetpressor, Springbox, NobleQ, The EMT reverb demo as well) crashes Pro Tools in busy sessions with an

"Access Violation occured, unable to read location: 0xFFFFFFFFC4280470"

Usually happens when I try to alter a parameter in the GUI, or recall a preset.

Not had much success with PSP support, who didn't have many suggestions apart from trashing prefs and reinstalling. They're all latest versions, done the usual win 10 audio tweaks.
Anyone else having success or issues with PSP in Pro Tools 12.8?

Cheers,



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com