Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=236888)

benjaminflam81 01-17-2009 02:28 PM

is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt
 
hey guys im not computer savy and wanted to find out is my mac g5 1.8ghz dual ppc fast enough for protools or am i better of building my own pc from scratch or will it do for now ple HELP!!!

audiobob 01-17-2009 02:37 PM

Re: is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt
 
Of course, it's not the fastest computer out there but it should run PT just fine. I was using a dual 1 ghz for a while and the speed while running PT was no problem but I really noticed a big difference when bouncing files when I jumped up to a MacPro. Also keep in mind, I believe that the PPC will no longer be supported with 10.6.

2fly 01-18-2009 06:48 AM

Re: is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt
 
Yep it should do fine. One of my systems is a dual G4 800mhz running 7.4 and it runs fine, a little bit slow at analysing files (compared with faster processors) but not unbearable and gives you time to make a cuppa! It certainly copes with the elastic audio and rtas instruments are useable if you commit to audio and make the original track inactive.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com