Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   total newbie (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=387531)

zakhilla 12-26-2016 07:05 AM

total newbie

hi all
i have just finished building my studio
i have a mac pro desktop computer
i am looking to get the whole pro tools package
i have used old versions of pro tools and logic

the first thing is apart from the pro tools specific apple keyboard what is the whole pro tools package? is it all soft ware? or is there hardware too? can they be bought separately?

are there any outlets in the uk? is it best to buy online? who is the most economic?

do i really need the latest? if i don't get the latest will there be crash or bug problems?

Wizzoboy 12-26-2016 07:58 AM

Re: total newbie

I think you are approaching this the wrong way. Have you identified exactly what you will be using PT for? This will dictate what level of PT you need. HD, HDX, or native. What about control surfaces? You do not need a PT specific keyboard for instance if you learn the shortcuts. Yes, everything is available in the UK. Also check your budget. You can go from around £600.00 to several thousand depending on what you choose. But first I suggest you do some research. All the systems and software information is on the Avid website.

Darryl Ramm 12-26-2016 08:40 AM

Yes exactly what are you planning on doing? What sort of recording, VI composition, etc. etc.

What interface(s) are you planning on using? You got things like monitors, monitor controllers, control surfaces already?

To expand on the above... you can spend tens of thousands on a Pro Tools HD Digilink system (hardware and software). Asking the questions you are asking with no clear info about what you need/are doing is pointless.

zakhilla 12-27-2016 05:41 AM

hi ok i have a large album to edit mix and master
13 songs
some have 100 plus tracks