Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2020 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=160)
-   -   Can't add audio to track (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=413543)

SpencerBoyd 01-07-2021 05:32 AM

Can't add audio to track

Hey guys!

I'm a long time pro tools user but have recently run into a snag with 2020.12.0

When I go to add an audio file to a session it never gets past processing the file. No waveform, not able to play the file, etc. I've tried multiple files in multiple sessions and it doesn't make any difference. It also doesn't make any difference if I drag and drop onto a track or if I use File > Import > Audio.

I recently installed (then uninstalled) adobe creative cloud but with no audio components. I've also tried uninstalling all AVID components from my machine then reinstalling pro tools.

Your assistance would be appreciated!
Spencer

Ben Jenssen 01-07-2021 06:18 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track

Hi. Welcome to the DUC.

I can't help you, I'm afraid, but I'm shure someone will chime in, especially if you provide more info on your system. Perhaps put essential system info in your signature.

Have a look here:
Help Us Help You

TOM@METRO 01-07-2021 06:55 AM

What Ben said is spot on. It's difficult to help without at least OS and computer info.

SpencerBoyd 01-07-2021 08:08 AM

My mistake for forgetting to include that.

I'm running the following:
Pro Tools 2020.12

Windows 10 - 20H2

Intel i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz
8 GB of RAM

The system has worked well up to this point!

TOM@METRO 01-07-2021 01:03 PM

This may or may not be contributing, but Pro Tools requires at least 16GB RAM. (32GB or more recommended)

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

paul_g 01-07-2021 06:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TOM@METRO (Post 2589770)
This may or may not be contributing, but Pro Tools requires at least 16GB RAM. (32GB or more recommended)