Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   What kind of IDE HDdo i need to Digi001 ???? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=41166)

lukemaniak 08-31-2001 04:31 PM

What kind of IDE HDdo i need to Digi001 ????

Hi.
I spent the last years using scsi drives, and now I'm setting up a Mac to run digi 001...so Im a complete newbie to the IDE thing (ATA-Ultra-DMA-DMA66-ATA33...damn I'm confused [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] )
So please help me:
What's the best IDE can I use as a secondary HD (the audio HD) to digi001.
What IDEs have 7200 rpm ???
Any brands, models....?
My puter is a BW G3/350 (revision 2).

Plus, I have 192 of ram..is that enough or do I really need something like 512 ?

Thx in advance for any comments... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Christoph1123 08-31-2001 06:33 PM

Re: What kind of IDE HDdo i need to Digi001 ????

There's a couple of HD's alot of users have great success with here. They are >

IBM Deskstar 60GXP 7200rpm 8.5ms 2MB Cache Ultra ATA/100.

Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 60 Series 7200rpm 9ms 2MB Cache UltraDMA 100.

Ive used the Maxtor with no problems in the past. I'm now using the Glyph X-Project 30GB 7200 Firewire HD. So far so very good. I'd say look into that too. Check Glyph's site > www.glyphtech.com <to see if it will be ok with your G3.

Yea, RAM is so cheap now. I just got a 512MB RAM for like $75 and there still dropping the prices.

Here's a couple of links for the HD's and RAM.

Mac Mall

Other World Computing

Chris

[ August 31, 2001: Message edited by: Christoph1123 ]

BradLyons 08-31-2001 08:37 PM