Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Intro Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   No sound (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403651)

buddybean 03-07-2019 01:20 PM

No sound

Hi have downloaded Pro tools first. I'm working on a PC with windows 10.
I have never used pro tools before.
I have opened a project and imported an MP3 onto the timeline. When I press play the counter works, I can see the sound moving, but no sound is coming out thru my speakers or headphones.
I'm not using an interface as I am just working with existing MP3 files.
Any help would be good, happy to supply more info.
cheers

64GTOBOY 03-07-2019 02:37 PM

Re: No sound

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ro-Tools-First

buddybean 03-07-2019 05:35 PM

Hey thanks for that link. I have seen this before, but it does not explain how to solve the problem.
It says: "If you are using Windows you will need to use an ASIO driver for your on board audio on your PC. ASIO4All is a generic ASIO diver for windows machines".
Does this mean I need to download ASIO4All then I will start to hear the sound?
thanks

TOM@METRO 03-07-2019 06:21 PM

Yes. Download and install ASIO4All. You can then use your on-board sound.

buddybean 03-11-2019 11:04 AM

Thank you!

buddybean 03-12-2019 02:01 AM

Hi so now I have downloaded ASIO4All and there is no sound at all on the computer! It has somehow disabled the sound completely!
Any ideas? This is getting a little frustrating.

Southsidemusic 03-12-2019 08:39 AM

Launch PTF with the N key held down. When the popup appears choose Asio4all and let PTF finish loading. Then goto settings and i/o and press default on all tabs and see if that does it for you.

DonaldM 03-12-2019 01:54 PM