Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=340386)

SimonThornton 06-22-2013 04:50 PM

PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
Totally reproducible here:

Launch PT(HD)11.
Create new session.
Add one new audio track.
Switch to edit window.
Open up group list bottom left hand corner.
Select the ALL group.
Then try to Modify it, by left clicking and getting the pop up menu.

Instant crash.

This is PTHD11 running on Lion 10.7.5, MBP i7 2.2Ghz, 16GB RAM.
I did a totally clean install of 11 and 10.3.6 on it yesterday.

Using Agg I/O as playback engine for this testing (I can't see that plugging in my TB Native is going to be the difference to this bug)

Chris Lambrechts 06-22-2013 05:04 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
valid bug. Works fine in 10.3.6
We'll make sure it is reported.

Thanks

Chris

lexaudio 06-22-2013 05:27 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
Isn't PT11 suppose to be on Mountain Lion, not Lion?

That's probably why.

SimonThornton 06-22-2013 05:27 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
I only stumbled across this when I discovered the behaviour of shift+1 (i.e. !) has changed in the edit window/group list . I used to use it ALL the time to select all faders if I need to pull everything down a bit (and who doesn't get into that situation in a mix now and again?). I realise it's all now part of the new "Shift+number keys = bypass all inserts" feature, but still.

I mention this because the right-clock pop up menu (that contains the buggy Modify... entry) still says "! - <ALL>" as a greyed out information line at the top.

I might be missing something here, and maybe there is still a way to get ! to do ALL group select - if not then perhaps that whole pop up menu has issues and sort of got left behind in the big code update...

Simon.

SimonThornton 06-22-2013 05:38 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
Yes, I'm aware of the fact I shouldn't be running PTHD11.0.0 on Lion 10.7.5 - but this particular bug didn't jump out to me as something that was "PT version vs OSX version". I don't think menu
functions and system calls have changed much from Lion to Mountain Lion.

(For the record, PTHD11.0.0 with Agg I/O or HDNative seems to work very well indeed. I don't doubt that there may be some PT functions that rely on 10.8.x being there and I'll have issues at some point)

DetroitT 06-22-2013 06:04 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
"...Select the ALL group.
Then try to Modify it, by left clicking and getting the pop up menu."

Left click here and modify is greyed out, Right click however "Modify" is the bug.
1st crash here.

SimonThornton 06-22-2013 06:20 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
Sorry, yes, I meant right-click.

Chief Technician 06-22-2013 07:15 PM

Re: PT(HD)11 bug - modify group (in edit window) = CRASH
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SimonThornton (Post 2051564)
Yes, I'm aware of the fact I shouldn't be running PTHD11.0.0 on Lion 10.7.5 - but this particular bug didn't jump out to me as something that was "PT version vs OSX version".

This bug occurs with OS X Mountain Lion v10.8.4. It is not OS-specific.

AVID has not done anything to prevent a user from using Pro Tools v11 with OS X Lion v10.7.5. This combination was not tested and it is not officially supported. Use this combination at your own risk.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com