Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Country Producers? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=145426)

vocalize 08-28-2005 07:40 PM

Country Producers?

Hey All!

I'm a country recording artist and I'm in the stages of putting together demo versions of the songs that were submitted to me. I really want the demo versions to sound fantastic and since I'm doing this part of the process on my own, I was wondering if any producers here on the DUC could point me to some good articles on mixing techniques to achieve that pristine sound before I start cutting this thing in Nashville?

I really want to become a better engineer and producer as well as being an artist.

Thanks in advance!

Kurtstudio 08-28-2005 10:18 PM

Re: Country Producers?

Hi, There really aren't any books to read to help you. Try importing a song that is similar to the one you are working on and match placement and sounds, understanding that the one you import is mastered. Other that that, Most producers prefer demo's to be kept very simple, thus Guitar vocals should do the job. If it isn't great as a guitar / vocals it probable isn't a great song. Lyric are the most important thing in a country song. Make sure you can hear every word and understand the full meaning of the song. best of luck.

scottgreiner 08-29-2005 02:09 PM

Hire Justin Neibank for the first day of tracking, take lots of notes, then don't touch anything - just record. Seems like you can't swing an empty six pack around with hitting several competent engineers in Nashville.

vocalize 08-29-2005 08:09 PM

Thanks Scott!
Can you please tell me what studio he's out of? If not, no biggie! I'm sure my guys can get a hold of him or I can do some research as well.

Thanks a million!

JFK StudioDude 08-29-2005 11:16 PM