Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=330918)

Rjones17 11-16-2012 08:16 PM

8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
I'm in need of buying a compatible 8ch Mic Input FireWire or USB Interface to use with Pro Tools MP 9.0.5. I've seen the following units however I can't find good online info. to confirm compatibiliy. If anyone can guide me to an online resource, I would greatly appreciate it. If you have experience, pros & cons with certain units, please let me know.

- Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 (read something about ASIO problems)
- PreSonus FireStudio Project (old model was FireStudio)
- M-Audio ProFire 2626 (read about Low Latency Monitoring problems)
(I believe it's discontinued. What's replaced it?)
- Mackie Onyx Blackbird
- Steinberg MR816 X
- Roland Octa Capture 10x10

System: MacBook Pro, OS 10.6.8, M-Audio FW410, Axiom 61, Yamaha NS-10 monitors

The Dougfather 11-23-2012 11:58 PM

Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
Isn't Pro Tools MP a version that forces you to use M-Audio hardware?

http://www.avid.com/us/products/protoolsmp

M-Audio appear to cutting back on their interfaces, you want my opinion, avoid them!

Pray you never get a problem because their service is horrific!

nst7 11-24-2012 07:25 AM

Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
Dougfather is correct.

If you are using MP9, you are required to use an M-Audio interface, so that narrows your possibilities.

It's only "regular" Protools that allows you to use any interface.

Rjones17 12-04-2012 11:36 AM

Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
So the ProFire 2626 is my only option for an 8ch interface. Does anyone know what limitation I'll have for sample rate trying to use all 8 channels at once? The max sample rate for PT MP9 says 96k although I've seen some notes out there stating I might not get that when trying to use all 8 channels on the ProFire 2626. Is there anywhere I can confirm what it really is?

Rjones17 12-14-2012 07:55 PM

Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
I have a FireWire 410 which is M-Audio compatible. Can I add something like the Saffire Pro 40 via FireWire daisy chain to the 410? I don't believe the 410 has ADAT but will this scenario give me the added channels in ProTools MP9 to record?

nst7 12-14-2012 08:06 PM

Re: 8ch FireWire or USB Interface w/ PT MP9
 
No, because it will not recognize the Sapphire, being M-Powered. Again, you need regular Protools.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com