Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   MTRX Studio & HD Native (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=411302)

YumYumAudio 07-27-2020 03:50 AM

MTRX Studio & HD Native
 
I've just got the MTRX Studio (MS) as a replacement for my dead Omni. I can't seem to get the basics working and the documentation doesn't seem to help, nor does there seem to be any videos covering this online. Basically, I can't see the MS as an Audio Interface for my Pro tools and therefore have the basic function of opening Protools and getting audio in and out.

What I've Done:
I've connected my Digilink Cable from Port 1 in the MS, to Port 1 in the PCI card in my mac. Connected the ethernet port 1 to my computer. XLR's plugged in to Mic 1&2, and the D25 snake in line out 1-8 for 5.1 speakers.
In DADman, on the "CON" section, I've selected AD & Digi Link 1-22 (as shown in the avid MS Install Guide pdf)
In "CONF" I've got DigiLink mode as Pri/Pri
I've noticed that there is no "Protools HD" in Conf, like there seems to be in videos for the MTRX, but wasn't sure if this was MTRX specific, and not the MTRX Studio.
Monitor Profile, I've set out my Source for Pro Tools HD - 5.1 - Digilink 1 Ch 1-6. And outputs DA Ch3-8 (Line 1-6)

I've updated to the latest firmware on the MS.



Is there some step that I am missing here?



My System:
Mac OSx Sierra 10.12.6
Mac Pro 5,1 (mid 2010)
Pro Tools HD 2018.12.0

Farhoof 07-27-2020 05:49 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & HD Native
 
I could be wrong, but I think you need DADman 5.4.1 or higher and Protools 2020.3 minimum.

creativecontrol 07-28-2020 08:36 AM

Re: MTRX Studio & HD Native
 
Yes, that is correct. MTRX Studio support for DigiLink was added in Pro Tools 2020.3:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...-Release-Notes

The current version of DADman available in accounts is 5.4.2.


best,


Jeff

polyh3dron 07-30-2020 06:20 PM

Re: MTRX Studio & HD Native
 
The MTRX Studio has a bit of a steeper learning curve than other Pro Tools interfaces, so you'll want to read the entire manual pretty closely. Avid did a series of videos on YouTube introducing people to the original MTRX unit, and most of the stuff they go through applies to the MTRX studio, including how to set up your monitoring section. They also have a playlist of videos for the MTRX Studio that should help. Basically just scour their channel and you will be on the right track:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...QDeRgOaJw_FSI1

I'm not sure how the networking defaults in the unit out of the box, but the direct ethernet connection between the MTRX Studio and your Mac's Ethernet port could be one of your problems. I believe from memory that it can be used this way after it's set up properly though.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com