Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   PT 9 on a Fujitsu Siemens AMILO LA1703 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405671)

Zergei72 07-18-2019 09:58 AM

PT 9 on a Fujitsu Siemens AMILO LA1703
 
So ...

I'm trying to run PT 9 on a Fujitsu AMILO LA1703 - laptop pc .
I know it has only 2GB of RAM, but a trial and error case here .
Pro Tools launches and then the system powers / shuts down .

I know it must be the lack of RAM or it may be due to overheating (the laptop is running quite hot) .

The laptop has Windows 8 x64 on it .

Now if I'd go for example Windows 7 SP1 x64 and invested in another 2GBs of RAM (there's a possibility it can take 4GBs, based on conversations I've read online) and maybe go for a AMD Turion instead of sticking to the Sempron it has now or so ... Would that help matters ?

I know the machine is a rethrosaur, but what the hell ... so am I (((:::

- Zergei -

peterle 07-25-2019 11:04 PM

Re: PT 9 on a Fujitsu Siemens AMILO LA1703
 
forget it , even 4 gb ram is much underpowered , the low end cpu too ,
and the amd cpu may cause errors too , intel is much more compatible,
i7 cpu recommended by avid.

if your laptop is running hot and shuts down when pt starts ,
it may be full of dust and cpu + gpu may need new thermal paste...
makes no sense on such computer to spend money or time.


btw a 64 bit os with 2 or 4 gb ram makes no sense,
the reason to go 64 bit is mainly to adress more ram than 4 gb ,
the 64 bit windows version needs alo more ram for himself than in 32 bit.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com