Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2020 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=160)
-   -   Can't add audio to track (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=413543)

SpencerBoyd 01-07-2021 05:32 AM

Can't add audio to track
 
Hey guys!

I'm a long time pro tools user but have recently run into a snag with 2020.12.0

When I go to add an audio file to a session it never gets past processing the file. No waveform, not able to play the file, etc. I've tried multiple files in multiple sessions and it doesn't make any difference. It also doesn't make any difference if I drag and drop onto a track or if I use File > Import > Audio.

I recently installed (then uninstalled) adobe creative cloud but with no audio components. I've also tried uninstalling all AVID components from my machine then reinstalling pro tools.

Your assistance would be appreciated!
Spencer

Ben Jenssen 01-07-2021 06:18 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Hi. Welcome to the DUC.

I can't help you, I'm afraid, but I'm shure someone will chime in, especially if you provide more info on your system. Perhaps put essential system info in your signature.

Have a look here:
Help Us Help You

TOM@METRO 01-07-2021 06:55 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
What Ben said is spot on. It's difficult to help without at least OS and computer info.

SpencerBoyd 01-07-2021 08:08 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
My mistake for forgetting to include that.


I'm running the following:
Pro Tools 2020.12

Windows 10 - 20H2

Intel i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz
8 GB of RAM


The system has worked well up to this point!

TOM@METRO 01-07-2021 01:03 PM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
This may or may not be contributing, but Pro Tools requires at least 16GB RAM. (32GB or more recommended)

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

paul_g 01-07-2021 06:01 PM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TOM@METRO (Post 2589770)
This may or may not be contributing, but Pro Tools requires at least 16GB RAM. (32GB or more recommended)

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

For sure... I see 16 GiB of ram getting consumed on my system easily. But if it's just a wav file, does it actually record the wave, but just no audio?

musicman691 01-08-2021 03:46 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by paul_g (Post 2589793)
For sure... I see 16 GiB of ram getting consumed on my system easily. But if it's just a wav file, does it actually record the wave, but just no audio?

Can't have a wave without the audio; the wave you see is a visual representation of the audio.

paul_g 01-08-2021 08:09 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2589813)
Can't have a wave without the audio; the wave you see is a visual representation of the audio.


What I meant was, are you getting just a place holder... And yes you can. I have a session where for some reason the tracks were accidentally not getting recorded to the session audio files folder and was sent somewhere else.

When I opened the session, I could see the tracks, even had all my edits and cross overs, but no visual representation of audio.

All I'm asking is it possible the audio file isn't the location you think it's in?

B.J. 01-08-2021 08:38 AM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SpencerBoyd (Post 2589728)
My mistake for forgetting to include that.


I'm running the following:
Pro Tools 2020.12

Windows 10 - 20H2

Intel i7-2600 @ 3.40GHz
8 GB of RAM


The system has worked well up to this point!


W10 20H2 is not supported. Could your Windows been updated lately?

TOM@METRO 01-08-2021 02:46 PM

Re: Can't add audio to track
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by B.J. (Post 2589834)
W10 20H2 is not supported. Could your Windows been updated lately?

This is correct, but I do know a few who are using it with 2020.12, although different system specs may prevail.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com