Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=251842)

scitels 08-10-2009 01:56 PM

Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
I just installed Pro Tools LE 8 on my new Vista based PC. After installation I repeated opening and keep getting the same error which says

Warning
Loss of Plug-in authorization keys may occur

This system contains one or more drives formatted with NTFS, which have volume names longer than 11 characters. This combinations is known to corrupt some InterLok Plug-In authorizations. If you know which drives are authorized and they are not configured this way, or if you have no InterLok protected plug-ins, then you may continue. In order to remedy this issue before corruption can occur click "Yes" to quit Pro Tools and rename NTFS volumes that are 11 characters or less.....

JMS40 08-10-2009 02:34 PM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by scitels (Post 1439292)
In order to remedy this issue before corruption can occur click "Yes" to quit Pro Tools and rename NTFS volumes that are 11 characters or less.....

Have you done that? Renamed any drives with long names?

sunburst79 08-10-2009 03:35 PM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
Just rename any drives with names longer than 11 characters. As I recall spaces count as characters.

Hope that helps.

TOM@METRO 08-10-2009 03:41 PM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
What they said.

Jimibrix 01-04-2021 08:09 AM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
Okay, so im getting the same notification. So, I go into computer and rename my hard drives and back up drives
? Is it that simple??

albee1952 01-04-2021 02:07 PM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimibrix (Post 2589339)
Okay, so im getting the same notification. So, I go into computer and rename my hard drives and back up drives
? Is it that simple??

Sort of. You may need to re-authorize some after re-naming the drives. In case it wasn't clear, your drives need names that are NOT more than 11 characters(a space will count as a character). I use drive names as follows:
System
Samples
Kontact
Seagate1TB
BU

Then I have external drives that are all named according to what they are(Like Passport1TB or Seagate6TB).

One more big thing to remember is; be careful with drive letters. You can change a drive name and nothing should get screwed up, but if you change a drive letter, things can go sour really quick:o

TOM@METRO 01-04-2021 03:07 PM

Re: Loss of Plug-In authorization key Warning... Can anyone assist?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2589394)
but if you change a drive letter, things can go sour really quick:o

And how! :eek:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com