Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   I know this is going to sound really stupid...... (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=141475)

Renouf 07-09-2005 07:41 AM

I know this is going to sound really stupid......
 
I know this is going to sound really stupid, but im having trouble changing the tempo in protools. Ive got a bunch of cut up drum sounds quantized fine and running on loops at 120bpm. Then when I go to change the tempo to 100bpm, it doesnt change the tempo at all, it just changes the spacing on the grid behind the samples. The drum sounds stay exactly where they are and the loop is made longer. Anyone know how I can change the tempo this way or do I have to move all of the samples by hand to fit the new grid spacings??? Thanks

Renouf 07-09-2005 05:58 PM

Re: I know this is going to sound really stupid......
 
Any suggestions? Anyone...........?

sonikbliss 07-09-2005 06:02 PM

Re: I know this is going to sound really stupid...
 
Only MIDI notes will change tempo with the grid. In order to change the tempo of an audio loop you need to process the file with a time compression/expansion plugin and render a new file at your desired tempo.

Some programs (such as Ableton) offer much more versatility with manipulating the tempo of audio loops than you will find in PT.

deepfrequencies 07-09-2005 10:24 PM

Re: I know this is going to sound really stupid...
 
You can use the TCE (Time Compression Expansion) tool. You can find that by holding down the "Trimmer" button until it lets you toggle between standard or the TCE tool. Set the Grid to 1 bar and put it in Grid mode. Then grab and stretch your drum loop to the bar line.

andretti 07-10-2005 12:07 AM

Re: I know this is going to sound really stupid...
 
No... THIS is going to sound really stupid...

Good gravy! The TC/E Plug-In. Just found it in the manual:

TC/E Plug-In Allows you to choose the plug-in used for Time Compression and Expansion when you edit audio with the Time Trimmer tool. The Time Trimmer works by using Time Compression/Expansion to match an audio region to the length of another region, a tempo grid, a video scene, or other reference point.

deepfrequencies, you just changed my LIFE. I never knew it was that easy.
Thanks for asking a really stupid question, Renouf.


Your fellow idiot


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com