Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=295235)

PTPerson 02-21-2011 11:38 PM

Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening?
 
Is it summing L&R to the mono output? or is there something I should know?

Stef.

tj_davies 02-22-2011 12:42 AM

Re: Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PTPerson (Post 1756179)
Is it summing L&R to the mono output? or is there something I should know?

Stef.

One can only assume!!

Timothy

PS: More information might help though.
e.g. Who is "it"? And what is "it"s output set to?

PTPerson 02-22-2011 12:45 AM

Re: Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening?
 
'It' is a track....

If I get a stereo track, say a keyboard, if you select its output to a single mono output the panner disappears.

I'm assuming that the track gets summed?

Digi? errr I mean, Avid?

Stef

tj_davies 02-22-2011 01:45 AM

Re: Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PTPerson (Post 1756185)
'It' is a track....

If I get a stereo track, say a keyboard, if you select its output to a single mono output the panner disappears.

I'm assuming that the track gets summed?

Digi? errr I mean, Avid?

Stef

Ah, ok.

Just checked with a sine wave.

Once summed to a mono bus, it goes from -20dB to -14dB. So it is getting summed.

Hope this helps,
Timothy

PTPerson 02-22-2011 02:39 PM

Re: Stereo tracks to single mono output... what's happening?
 
Great thanks.

Stef


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:24 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com