Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=134965)

grouge 04-21-2005 10:46 AM

mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
My D8b is connected to the 888/24 via the PDI-8 i/o card on the D8b. the aes/ebu cables then go through a patch bay and connect to the 88824's. I'm not getting ANY audio out of the D8b into the 888's or vise versa. has anyone encountered this before? I don't have much experience with D8b's or 888/24's so any help is appreciated

ChrisMac 04-21-2005 06:30 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
Can you pass audio from a different AES source?? If I remember correctly the pin config on the PDI-8 db25 i/o is not what you'd usually expect.

woodywho 04-21-2005 07:38 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
if I remember correctly, you need to get an aes cable w/ "tascam" pin config. hope this helps

grouge 04-22-2005 10:06 AM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
I routed the aes/ebu source from a DAT player into the 888/24 through the patch bay with the proper cable and got signal into PT, then routed out of PT into the "digital in" aes/ebu port on the D8b and got signal, although it was full of static. when I tried to patch the signal to the "tape in" port, i still got nothing.

woodywho 04-22-2005 11:13 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
Under PT go into hardware setup, then select your 888, go to options or more and put all the i/o's to digital...........its been awhile but I think this what you are looking for!

grouge 04-23-2005 01:22 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
I've discovered a bad BNC connector on the sync cable connecting my aardsync to the 888/24, will replace. Question: Is this why there is no signal between the two at all? I thought a non-sync issue would yeild poor audio with clicks, static or pop, not zero audio whatsoever. any thoughts?

ChrisMac 04-23-2005 04:01 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
Quote:

I've discovered a bad BNC connector on the sync cable connecting my aardsync to the 888/24, will replace. Question: Is this why there is no signal between the two at all? I thought a non-sync issue would yeild poor audio with clicks, static or pop, not zero audio whatsoever. any thoughts?

Usually that is the case.(pops,clicks) Judging from everything you have said so far though, I would lean towards a problem with the connection from the patch bay to your d8b. I am thinking your db25 connector at the d8b is wired wrong

grouge 04-27-2005 03:07 PM

Re: mackie D8b and PT 5.1.1
 
I replaced the wordclock cable with a different one and it seems to have made things worse. Now when i try to run PT it either won't play, or all the lights on the 888/24 start flashing like crazy. it shouldn't be this complicated right? WC out of my aardsync to WC in on the 888/24. set the 888/24 to "digital" and match the sample rate and it should lock up right? is it possible to get the wrong WC cable? does anyone know the recommended WC cable for an aardsync to 888/24 connection? I went to a studio supply store (pacific radio) and got 75 ohm rg 6 cable and crimped the connectors on properly, but no dice. any advise would help.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com