Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | S6 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   Boot MTM from External HDD (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=401447)

laki 10-10-2018 07:23 PM

Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Hi all, is it possible to do this?

We have had 3 MTMs this year with internal SSD failures. Because we are in Australia, it takes about 3+ days to get a replacement. Avid for some reason doesn't keep a few spares in the country.

It would be good to be able to run the system software from an external drive while we wait for the replacement.

If the answer is yes, could someone detail how to do this.

Many thanks.

EddieJones 10-11-2018 01:08 AM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
You would have to use USB which would slow the system down. I would like to find out more about why you are both having failures and long delivery times. I'll ask some people here.....

laki 10-11-2018 01:17 AM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Thanks Eddie. My desk has been dead in the water since Tuesday. It’s now Thursday night here in Sydney. MTM on FedEx from San Jose, hopefully tomorrow.

If there’s any information you need from me please let me know.

laki 10-11-2018 01:36 PM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Would the faders be slower to react to touch etc? That’s really what I’m missing. If just the MTM itself will run slower, doesn’t really bother me for the short term.

At least the room isn’t completely hobbled if I can boot from USB.

EddieJones 10-12-2018 09:23 AM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Have you received the MTM yet ? We are looking at getting more spares into Australia too.

laki 10-12-2018 02:13 PM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by EddieJones (Post 2502526)
Have you received the MTM yet ? We are looking at getting more spares into Australia too.


It arrived Friday afternoon. Spares in Australia would be great. Spares in Sydney would be even better!

It would still be nice to have an emergency procedure for booting from an external or other drive. Or at the very least, a “safe” mode that gives you just faders. (I know that’s not simple). Some sort of redundancy maybe?

These desks are in rooms that are being hammered on tight turnaround jobs. Something like this could be catastrophic, although not in this case.

Thanks for your attention to this Eddie. I really appreciate the level of attention that this forum gets from you and “creative control” (can’t remember his name).

laki 10-15-2018 03:32 PM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
Hi Eddie,

Just an update. The MTM that was sent to us is DOA.The cpu does not boot. The soft keys back light lights up, but the main display does nothing.

Fortunately my old MTM works on and off. Every now and then it will go to the shell screen but if I reboot with the System USB key that shipped with it, some sort of repair happens and I can boot into the system until the next time it freaks out.

It has now been a week since our initial problem.

EddieJones 10-16-2018 12:33 AM

Re: Boot MTM from External HDD
 
I'm sorry, I have made our CS Manager aware and he or myself will update you ASAP.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com