Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=340575)

roberts 06-24-2013 09:15 AM

Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
I am sell a used HD 1 TDM core card plus Pro Tools HD 10 to a buyer.
I have the form fill out for the HD TDM card but there is no way to transfer the the HD 10 license to the buyers ilok.com account (the licensee says NOT TRANSFERABLE)

What is the procedure do I do to transfer the HD 10 ilok asset to the new buyer?


Why had this changed?
We sold a system last year and we transferred the license to buyer of the core card's ilok account it was easy.
Why does this seem not to be possible to sell card/software anymore?
:confused:

albee1952 06-24-2013 11:54 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Hmmm, don't take this as the last word, but I wonder if you could move the asset to another iLok, then un-register the iLok, send it to the buyer, and they register it in their name?

Pete Gates 06-24-2013 12:47 PM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Don't think you can do that anymore.

I'm confused by this too. Can't see anything on the Avid site about this. Ilok transfers of 9HD, 10HD, and I assume 11HD, are blocked now but there's no Avid statement about this. Also, I see HD licenses for sale but I'm not sure how people are managing to do this - except with brand new registration codes.

Pete

roberts 06-24-2013 03:25 PM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2053064)
Hmmm, don't take this as the last word, but I wonder if you could move the asset to another iLok, then un-register the iLok, send it to the buyer, and they register it in their name?

The ilok grace period is gone now - so there is possible way to sell a used Pro Tools HDX/Native/TDM system anymore.
You can sell the cards but with out the HD software the cards are useless. :(

BasketCase 06-26-2013 03:19 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Wait. So you are saying that Protools users can no longer even sell a system that they purchased?

Its official. My HD2 Accel rig is the last protools system I will ever own. Its getting all a little bit ridiculous...

Thats right, Avid! Your attempts to man-handle customers into spending lots of money buying your products is standing in the way of people buying your products.

Ironic, isn't it? If there were an option to buy just a HD native PCIe card + protools software, I would have jumped at the chance a year ago.

But as it stands, reaper fixes all the problems I have with my TDM rig... for just $60! Access to 64bit for VI's. Offline bounce for those irritating voiceover sessions where I don't want to wait 2 hours for audio to bounce.

Jay_uk 06-26-2013 04:57 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by roberts (Post 2053274)
The ilok grace period is gone now - so there is possible way to sell a used Pro Tools HDX/Native/TDM system anymore.
You can sell the cards but with out the HD software the cards are useless. :(

Wow ..unbelievable :(

This constant squeezing of the lemon is tiresome.
the pips have squeaked

sunburst79 06-26-2013 05:43 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Speaking as a user and not a moderator - since I'm not 100% positive. I believe all you need to do is call Digi CSA with the cards serial, your iLok info and presumably the new owners iLok info and they will approve the transfer.

They are trying to enforce the EULA everyone accepts when installing the software and cut down on the number of grey market copies of PT HD floating around out there. At least that's my opinion as to why they have made those changes.

ArKay99 06-26-2013 05:51 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
EDIT: Well, the above post popped in before I had finished mine. I'll look into that. Hopefully that will apply to just the software also...

Hey AVID!...... what is the official word on this? Now we can't sell transfer assets? I have a PT9HD/PT10HD bundle I have a buyer for and WANT to sell. I just bought an HDX rig with it's it's own PT10HD/PT11HD licenses and I have no further need for the old assets. What's the deal?

sunburst79 06-26-2013 06:06 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ArKay99 (Post 2054370)
EDIT: Well, the above post popped in before I had finished mine. I'll look into that. Hopefully that will apply to just the software also...

Hey AVID!...... what is the official word on this? Now we can't sell transfer assets? I have a PT9HD/PT10HD bundle I have a buyer for and WANT to sell. I just bought an HDX rig with it's it's own PT10HD/PT11HD licenses and I have no further need for the old assets. What's the deal?

I would call Avid CSA and explain the issue. I'm reasonably sure that this is treated as a registration issue and there's no charge.

I've asked Avid to post a FAQ on policy and transfers in the Buy and Sell section here the Avid website and perhaps iLok.com. Hopefully they will do that. And the information may be already on the website somewhere for all I know.

The Byre 06-26-2013 07:28 AM

Re: Procedure to Transfer Used Hardware/Software
 
I am sure that Avid are aware of EU law on this and would not seek to break the judgement of Court of Justice of the European Union, namely "An author of software cannot oppose the resale of his ‘used’ licences"

See here - http://curia.europa.eu/jcms/upload/d...cp120094en.pdf


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com