Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   LE to HD quality difference (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=266700)

grendizer 02-10-2010 07:53 AM

LE to HD quality difference

Hello, I’ve been recording for about 6 years now with LE 003, Currently my set-up looks like this.

G5 dual ppc
Universal audio 2-610 mic pre
Focusrite octopre
Waves diamond and ssl native bundle.

I’m trying to figure out if the benefits outweigh the cost before upgrading from a LE 003 to an HD1. Therefore, I have a few question’s and all answer’s are greatly appreciated.

Question’s

1: with the exception of the AD converter. Is there any other difference in the QUALITY of the recordings between a 003 and HD if the recording is at same bit/sample rates.

2: Is there any difference in the QUALITY between native plugs and TDM plugs? Or is it just, one is internal processing and the other is host based.

3: can’t I get an apogee or top end ADC and get away with HD quality on my 003?

Keybeeetsss 02-10-2010 07:55 AM

Re: LE to HD quality difference

1st off, WELCOME to the DUC...

2ndly, search the DUC... a zillion threads on exactly all u ask & I won't be the only to tell u this... just the 1st...

grendizer 02-10-2010 07:58 AM

i typed "LE to HD" in the search bar. 0 searches were found

Keybeeetsss 02-10-2010 08:04 AM

Well being that the DUC search engine sucks big time, I'll give u that; the trick is Google...

I will tell u this, HD1 will be a joke...

68topls 02-10-2010 11:09 AM