Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   Download Error "Missing plug in" - Can't download from account (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=353847)

sparky3000 04-25-2014 12:43 PM

Download Error "Missing plug in" - Can't download from account
 
Ahhh Avid. Can't just make anything easy, can you...

So, I just want to download the Avid Instruments collection from my account which I own. But, when I click the download link I'm told I"m missing a plug-in.

So, I installed Java. Gets further in process... then says it's encountered an error.

Then, I try Firefox. Same error.

It's trying to open the applet but can't do so.

I can't believe I'm having to ask this.. but does anyone have a workaround so I can download the products which I've already purchased from Avid? lol

sparky3000 04-25-2014 12:48 PM

Re: Download Error "Missing plug in" - Can't download from account
 
OK finally got it.

For anyone encountering this...

You have to download Java, and you may have to make several runs at this. Use Firefox for sure, and make sure it's the latest version of firefox. Java is going to run through a couple of attempts and warn you that your machine is vulnerable, etc. But persist with this process and it will eventually work.

Good grief.

KMcK 04-25-2014 08:03 PM

Re: Download Error "Missing plug in" - Can't download from account
 
There's almost always a link to download w/o Java in that first pop-up window that opens when you click a download link from Avid. You just have to find the line in the paragraph of text that has the small link that says something like "click here to download the file without using the download manager" and avoid clicking click the big red "Download" at the bottom of the window which starts the Java applet.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com