Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Advice for adding more inputs (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=260887)

spreston 12-06-2009 10:50 AM

Advice for adding more inputs
 
I have an 002 and I just added Digi's Eleven Rack. I am using the 002 as machine control and am using the audio outputs of the Eleven Rack. This configuration only leaves me one mic input. Consequently, I now need to start thinking about adding more channels.


Which type of interface should I use (do I have a choice) ADAT/Lightpipe or Firewire? I've been considering Presonus (either DigiMax or FirePod). Any recommendations on products?

What are limitations to moving in this direction?

This is for my home studio and I do not want to migrate to an HD system at this time.

Thanks in advance.
-Scott

AndyJCP 12-06-2009 10:54 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
Hi Scott,

not sure if I understand your 002/ElevenRack setup.

Anyway, if you want to add inputs to the 002 (and I guess the same holds true for ElevenRack), you have to use the ADAT or s/pdif inputs. You cannot use an additional firewire interface with the 002.

For the ADAT options, I combined a Digimax D8 with my 003R.
It's cheap 8 channels and the sound quality is good for the price.

Speaking about limitations, you can have up to 18 channels with the 003/002. Not sure about ElevenRack.

Hope this helps,

Andy

albee1952 12-06-2009 12:13 PM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
I think you would use the SPDIF to connect the 11R out to the 002 SPDIF in but some manual digging may be needed.

spreston 12-06-2009 07:25 PM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
Andy thanks for the info. Albee, you can't talk to the s/pdif input of the 11R while the 002 is set as the Playback Engine. I have to set the Playback Engine to the 11R in order to use its s/pdif (at which point I can't use the 002).

The 11R sounds great.
-S

albee1952 12-06-2009 07:53 PM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
I meant feeding the SPDIF out of the 11R to the SPDIF input of the 002(but I am shooting in the dark). That's a question I did not think to ask at the 11R demo I went to a few weeks ago.

spreston 12-07-2009 06:49 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
I have the 11R going into the 002 via s/pdif. In order to access the output via s/pdif you must set the machine control to the 11R, at which point I do not have the ability to use the 002 inputs / controls. Consequently, I use the audio outs of the 11R (but that uses 3 mic inputs on the 002). Adding something like the DigiMax will work fine to give me some extra inputs to record drums (for example).

sean shannon 12-07-2009 11:00 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
There's nothing wrong with the ADA8000, and it's only about $200.

sw rec 12-07-2009 11:10 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
There's nothing wrong with the ADA8000, and it's only about $200.

Second that. I have one, have a friend who has one, and we both regularly record all 18 inputs at once without a hitch. A VERY well-spent $200.

AndyJCP 12-08-2009 08:36 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
I cannot say anything about the sound quality of the ADA8000. The only thing I did not like is that the XLR inputs are at its front, which makes it a bit uncomfortable for rack mounting.

sw rec 12-08-2009 08:50 AM

Re: Advice for adding more inputs
 
That makes me crazy too, Andy. The line inputs are up there as well, and I have a snake running up the front of the rack. Looks like crap........


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com