Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Are these pc components ok? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=279826)

chazc080488 08-11-2010 06:18 PM

Are these pc components ok?
 
I want to upgrade to a intel base set-up. I'm going to be using vista home premium 32 bit. I already have a internal and external hard drive 7200 rpm.
Is this pc build okay?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130390

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151096

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835608014

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.459955

Benoni 08-11-2010 06:28 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
If you MUST stick with Vista 32 bit, i would get a 256 or 512MB video card.

But if you are going to build a nice i7 system, why not spend the extra $100 and get Windows 7 64 bit?

Also, even though you may have 7200 RPM drives, this board you listed has SATA III 6Gb/sec ports. So i would add 2 or more Western Digital Caviar Black SATA III 6Gb/sec 64MB cache drives.

I personally would go with a Corsair PSU at least 650 watts and even higher.

MikeLip 08-11-2010 06:29 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Since you're using 32 bit, if you drop your vid card to 512MB thats ~512MB extra memory availble to Pro Tools.
Mike.

TOM@METRO 08-11-2010 06:32 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
I would consider choosing a system a little closer to the proven ones listed on the i7 sticky at the top of this forum.

I would consider XP if you are going to run in a 32-bit system.

I would consider a smaller video card if you are running in a 32 bit system.

And I would consider using the /3GB switch.

chazc080488 08-11-2010 07:29 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Forgive me for my ignorance about computers but why do I need two more internal drives and what is a /3Gb switch. And is jumping to windows 7 64-bit going to help that much?

And are these video cards and power supply okay?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130419

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151091

chazc080488 08-11-2010 07:32 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Actually I have a nvidia 7600gt card on my current pc I was thinking of using that?

albee1952 08-11-2010 09:55 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chazc080488 (Post 1650353)
Forgive me for my ignorance about computers but why do I need two more internal drives and what is a /3Gb switch. And is jumping to windows 7 64-bit going to help that much?

And are these video cards and power supply okay?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130419

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151091

You need 2 hard drives so that you can record to one drive, while the other(OS) drive is free to deal with the basic operating. Think of the OS drive as the traffic cop, telling the audio and Pro Tools where to go, when to go, etc. Pro Tools is very specific that a separate recording drive is REQUIRED for any level of performance. If all you want to do is 4 tracks and a handful of plugins, then break the rules and record to your system drive(but don't complain when it crashes or freezes and throws up error messages). The 3gb switch allows Pro Tools to access more RAM, so assuming you have 4gb of RAM and a 32 bit OS, it gives better performance. Win7 64 bit gave me a tremendous boost in performance(Dverb test went from 320 to 520)and does not need the switch. The old video card(assuming its a PCIe) would likely work fine. I run an MSI GeForce 7300LE without issues. I have never heard of that PSU brand and would stick with the big names like Corsair, Thermaltake or Antec(just an opinion).

chazc080488 08-11-2010 10:25 PM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Oh ok I have a extrenal drive that I record to now. Its firewire with the whole oxford 911 chipset...and it's been working great with 7.4 and Ill be getting this psu

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

albee1952 08-12-2010 08:39 AM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chazc080488 (Post 1650427)
Oh ok I have a extrenal drive that I record to now. Its firewire with the whole oxford 911 chipset...and it's been working great with 7.4 and Ill be getting this psu

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139005

That PSU looks dandy. Good that you have an approved firewire drive. Just remember that you can actually get better performance with a second internal SATA drive(I only use my firewire drives for backup and transport).

chazc080488 08-12-2010 11:48 AM

Re: Are these pc components ok?
 
Okay I'll get one of those internal sata drives also. Thanks alot!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com