Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=202180)

Dog BBQ 07-26-2007 09:59 PM

Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Just got done Fixing an Older Mix

having to redo some Punches that didn't take

Along with some Automation that wasn't right some how真真真

And was wonder if Protools is getting too Flimsy I don't need all these new features at

the cost of reliability and compatibility!!!

I thought I don't need Bells and Whistles I need a Hammer and Anvil

I have to keep looking over my shoulder for mistakes Protools has Done [can only blame the interns so much]

I'd like a piece of mind when I work not thinking if everything worked

What was wrong with Protools 5.1 I can't remember真真真

sleadley 07-27-2007 12:20 AM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
In my experience it is rare for Pro Tools to not function as you describe like "mistakes Protools has Done" Punches that have not taken etc, I rarely see this at all and when I do it is usually human error, that is not to say Pro Tools is perfect but.....
I can not work without the latest version of Tools there are too many "must have features". But, hey if 5.1.1 worked for you, no-one is stopping you from getting a G4 and loading it.
Feature bloat often affects many programs but as far as PT is concerned it has to keep a wide range of users happy (from Music to Post to recording and mastering) so often there are features that are there but don't get used often in one area of use but are essential for another. You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.

Evil Jack 07-27-2007 03:04 AM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:

You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.

Absolutely. This software wasn't written specifically for you.

Drew Mazurek 07-27-2007 12:21 PM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
ProTools didn't even become viable for me til 6.4 (delay comp). Prior to that I was using it as editor but that was it.

Natural Sound 07-27-2007 03:00 PM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
I've always wished that PT would allow you to install the feature set that you need. It might cut down on Ram overhead, and streamline the program for those that don't need certain features. Why have all those midi functions if you're not using midi.

I also thought it funny that DogBBQ would like to have a "piece of mind" as opposed to Peace Of Mind.
You know, you can never have too many pieces.

Lee Blaske 07-27-2007 03:33 PM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:

I've always wished that PT would allow you to install the feature set that you need. It might cut down on Ram overhead, and streamline the program for those that don't need certain features.

These days, especially if you're not loading a lot of plug-ins, I don't think RAM overhead is an issue at all. RAM is cheap.

Furthermore, I think it would be a safe bet that having PT load specific feature sets for specific users would most likely be a testing and stability nightmare. Every time the Mac OS would be updated, it might take years before PT would be ready to make the move.

Seriously, I think PT could be most improved if it were specifically coded natively for the Mac (and a separate version for PC), rather than one set of code ported to Mac and PC. Stability, performance and latency on the Mac would also be greatly enhanced if PT took advantage of OSX's kernel level Core Audio and Core MIDI. Apple put an enormous amount of effort into developing OSX to optimize audio and MIDI performance, and PT simply does not use it. It's an unfortunate situation. That's why challenging plug-ins (like NI's, and VSL's [which is not even released for PT]) work like a hot knife going through butter on DAW applications that support AU plug-ins, but leave PT gasping for breath on the side of the road.

PT has a great UI that's ideal for the way a lot of people work. It could definitely use a lot of work under the hood, though. It will be very interesting to see what the future holds (for PT, as well as all the other major DAW applications out there). It will be interesting to see if there will be a high-end native PT solution in the future, or if the next generation of high-end PT systems will still require rather costly hardware. Things will be interesting.

I also wonder if there will ever come a time when there will be a barrier to importing older PT sessions into the newest version of PT. Keeping backward compatibility has got to be a major strain that holds back development. At some point, one would think it would make sense to start with a fresh, blank sheet of paper and design a new system. As it is, backward compatibility of old sessions is usually quite compromised (since there are a lot of plug-ins that have fallen by the wayside, or simply not present in the system you're currently using). If you need access to things at a later date, better just keep a vintage system operating, or make sure to always bounce out a lot of stems.

studiojimi 07-27-2007 04:15 PM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:



And was wonder if Protools is getting too Flimsy I don't need all these new features at

the cost of reliability and compatibility!!!



i'd like to wish you much luck in your career in music.

Dog BBQ 07-29-2007 12:18 AM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:

In my experience it is rare for Pro Tools to not function as you describe like "mistakes Protools has Done" Punches that have not taken etc, I rarely see this at all and when I do it is usually human error, that is not to say Pro Tools is perfect but.....
I can not work without the latest version of Tools there are too many "must have features". But, hey if 5.1.1 worked for you, no-one is stopping you from getting a G4 and loading it.
Feature bloat often affects many programs but as far as PT is concerned it has to keep a wide range of users happy (from Music to Post to recording and mastering) so often there are features that are there but don't get used often in one area of use but are essential for another. You often have to look at this product from many angles not just your own perspective
my 2c
Simon L.

Well the Graphic Freezes alone are aggravating!!!

And the Region revert bug after the punch was a real ringer!!!

Dog BBQ 07-29-2007 12:19 AM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:

Absolutely. This software wasn't written specifically for you.

But wouldn't you like to be able to customize it for your needs and not the needs of the masses???

Dog BBQ 07-29-2007 12:20 AM

Re: Protools, Too many Bells and Whistels
 
Quote:

ProTools didn't even become viable for me til 6.4 (delay comp). Prior to that I was using it as editor but that was it.

I made plenty Mixing from version 4.3 on too bad you had to wait!!!!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com