Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405607)

briaboy 07-13-2019 02:14 PM

Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Hi - using PT 2019.5 with UAD Apollo 8 interface - I've routed all my drum channels to an aux channel (drum bus). For playback and mixing, I just want to hear the drum group aux channel, but the input tracks are still audible. If I mute them or adjust the volume, the aux channel also mutes or adjusts in volume. Am I doing something wrong here? Thank you!

BScout 07-13-2019 02:38 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Sounds like you have them grouped.
Or you've turned the "All" group on by mistake.

Lower left side of the edit window is where you look.Hopefully you can see that pane, if not, you need to find the small arrow on that side and click it to reveal the side panes.

briaboy 07-13-2019 02:47 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Well, I have all the drum tracks routed to the drum bus, that's all (I think!).

briaboy 07-13-2019 02:57 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
So, no, they're nor "grouped" in the sense that you mean. I can still operate the individual faders independently. I just don't want to hear the input tracks, only the aux drum bus.

BScout 07-13-2019 03:02 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Post a screenshot of your mixer page.
The terms you are using are confusing the matter so it is just easier to look at a mixer's routing to figure out what you've done.

Also, is LLM on? It should be off if you aren't recording.

briaboy 07-13-2019 03:07 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Sorry, what's confusing?! The Aux channel is my drum bus, and routed to that drum bus are the individual drum channels.

BScout 07-13-2019 03:40 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by briaboy (Post 2532632)
Sorry, what's confusing?! The Aux channel is my drum bus, and routed to that drum bus are the individual drum channels.

"input tracks"
No such thing. Tracks have inputs (multiple types of tracks have inputs.) If you mean an audio track with input enabled that means something. If it is an audio track that has your recorded file and no longer input enabled, that means something. An aux track has no audio. You can't solo an aux and hear anything unless the incoming tracks routed to it (with audio files) are solo safe and the aux is input enabled or the input to an aux is a physical input.

Groups are groups. They mean one thing in Pro Tools. And you can have groups where faders move independently.

You can have audio tracks routed to more than one output.

I could go on. But it is easier just to look at the mixer page which clearly shows what you've done verses using imprecise words.

amagras 07-13-2019 09:24 PM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
Yes, a screenshot and we would know for sure what's the problem

briaboy 07-14-2019 07:12 AM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
To be clearer, I have created an aux track. That is my drum bus. I have routed kick, snare, hihats and toms channels to that drum bus. When I hit play, I hear both the original individual channels AND the drum bus. I just want to hear the drums as a group, not the individual channels. How do I do that?

briaboy 07-14-2019 07:24 AM

Re: Aux channels - still hearing the input tracks?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Here's a screenshot!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com