Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   How to get of the Plosive? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=334697)

peter5992 02-17-2013 01:05 PM

How to get of the Plosive?
 
Good morning everyone:

Hope you are enjoying the President's Day weekend.

Quick question: I am editing the dialogue of a short film, including implementing ADR which someone else recorded. Unfortunately I only have one take and a few words (starting with plosives like p etc) sound bad, presumably because no pop filter was used or perhaps placed incorrectly.

We will probably have to ask this actor to come back into the studio for more ADR (there's other dialogue which is bad as well), but just for my curiosity and education, how would you fix this if you couldn't do the recording again?

I have PT10 with the CPTK and Izotope RX.

Many thanks!

Mitch Griffin 02-17-2013 01:17 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
....or, if you look at the waveforms of those 'Ps' popping, you can edit the incoming 'p' and make a fade. It can be work intensive, but can eliminate a VO redo.

JKD99 02-17-2013 01:44 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
I select the 'plosive, then use EQ 1-Band in AudioSuite mode with a low cut filter at around 180 or so. That will usually take care of it. Adjust the freq to taste so it gets rid of the pop and doesn't make the voice sound too then.

That said, if you're getting 'plosives recording ADR (as opposed to Narration/VO) then your actor is probably WAY too close to the mic.

Get a little distance on it and you'll not only get rid of the p-pops but it will be easier to match into production when you mix.

Best,

Joe

Bob Olhsson 02-17-2013 01:47 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
I high-pass them with an Audiosuite equalizer. My favorite for this is the Waves LinEq Lowband set to Low Ripple. It works so well that I never use pop filters these days.

minister 02-17-2013 03:51 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by peter5992 (Post 2008199)
I have PT10 with the CPTK and Izotope RX.

Then open RX, Spectral Repair, bump the strength to 1.5 or 2, reduce the Surrounding region percentage to 50 or 25, Capture, lasso the "plovsive", repair, render.

Far more control than a hi-pass solution.

Bob Olhsson 02-17-2013 05:54 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
I use the spectral editor in Samplitude for that when I'm mastering because its faster but that particular waves high-pass filter is still the most reliably transparent method I've found.

peter5992 02-17-2013 08:00 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
Thanks for the feedback everyone - I tried high passing the passage with one of the EQs but that doesn't work - still hear the plosives when I move the filter pretty high up. For RX, I have Declicker, Declipper, Decrackler, Denoiser, Hum Removal and Denoiser (RX3), but no Spectral Repair.

Well -- whatever. Met with the director and we're going to try to bring the talent back in for another VO session. There are more issues than the popping, some lines are delivered differently as well, and some lines have a huge amount of background noise that I don't want to try to filter out.

Thank you for the feedback, have a great weekend.

Bob Olhsson 02-17-2013 08:02 PM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
I do just the pop. You can see it in the waveform.

BobbyDazzler 02-18-2013 02:13 AM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
Use a different "P" from another piece of dialog. I have even patched a couple of consanants with my own voice, and if you do it right, the results can be amazing.

peter5992 02-18-2013 05:15 AM

Re: How to get of the Plosive?
 
Thanks for the feedback - very useful tips in here. I'm going to give it another shot.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com