Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Protools III vs Digi001 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=45608)

Straylight001 05-05-2002 09:34 PM

Protools III vs Digi001
 
This is a two part question <and rather long winded at that>. #1: How would a digi001 in a 733mhz G4 compare with a Protools III system <with 1 I/O card and 2-3 Farms>? I'm speaking in terms of processing power and not track count. WOuld I be shooting myself in the foot by getting the older tdm rather than the digi001? <and please bear in mind that I can't afford a Mix system or anything.> and finally, #2: I've heard that the digi001's converters are so-so and I've pretty much heard the same of the older Protools converters. My question is: would using really good outboard gear like the Distressor make a dramatic difference and improve the audio, or will the overall sound of the converters remain the same? I would appreciate any advice <other than the "get a Mix system" advice. hehheh> ont he subject. I've been researching Digidesign products for awhile now, but I need to hear from people who actually use the equipment.

Munxcub 05-05-2002 10:09 PM

Re: Protools III vs Digi001
 
i dont know much about all of that, but i do know that the 001 in that machine would rock.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com