Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=58078)

10-06-2000 08:53 AM

Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
I'm debating on which to purchase. I don't have massive 36 track needs w/ tons of power, however, I want the best possible sound quality for my recordings.

I understand that the 888|24 is "better" than the Digi 001 I/O, but both are 24-bit, right? Does the Digi 001 just not sound quite as good?

Thanks,
Ron

mats 10-06-2000 06:27 PM

Re: Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
Well yeah they sound quit the same it is more in the architect of the system.
While the d24 is a expandable system with does not require lot's of cpu power of the computer but more on it's dedecated hardware.
consider yourself where u need it for and is it worth it.
the digi001 is flexible sys. but will be less stable but hey you can always upgrade.

Rock_Artist 10-07-2000 04:35 PM

Re: Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
In today's digital age most products also non-digidesign produce digital sound
with no quality loss at low prices.

If you plan simply to record the quality factor would be the place, the mics,
the pre-amps and the things until the Audio I/O. The Digi001 won't
limit you for having high-quality as other Digidesign products.

The only reason TDM system is better (regardless the expandibility as mats
mentioned) is the plug-in and latency.
On TDM you can add much more realtime effects and there are MORE realtime
effects (something I really miss under LE).
Another thing is the latency, even though the 001 got low latency when used with
small buffer TDM latency is in smaller and since it isn't Host-Based program you
don't put it all on the computer as on LE.

If it's just simple recording with no massive needs and the editing is going for TDM
001 would be great and I believe no audiophile would be able to distinct between
session recorded on 001 or on TDM

BCBud 10-07-2000 07:05 PM

Re: Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
I am sorry Rock Star, but you are incorrect. There are a few more differences.
1. ADDA converters on the TDM system are of higher quality, and if you have 888's all connections are XLR and you have AES/EBU I/O.
2.Edit density on TDM is handled by the card it self not your computer.
3.TDM plug-ins use farm cards which are also not dependent upon system resources.
4. there are very limited sync options with the 001, so if you are planning to do post you may be out of luck.
5. there are a few software differences :
ie.LE has no virtual tracks
6. If sometime in the future you require more track count TDM is expandable, LE is not(at this time)
If you just want a system to do homerecording,like myself, the LE is top notch. But, if you want to base a studio around a system TDM is the way to go

GROS 10-07-2000 09:18 PM

Re: Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by rscook:
I'm debating on which to purchase. I don't have massive 36 track needs w/ tons of power, however, I want the best possible sound quality for my recordings.

I understand that the 888|24 is "better" than the Digi 001 I/O, but both are 24-bit, right? Does the Digi 001 just not sound quite as good?

Thanks,
Ron
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

if you can afford a TDM system then that's the best way to go.i have a MIXPLUS system on a G4/450 and a 001 system on a WIN/98 machine.TDM is simply the best, "period"

you dont have to deal with the latency crap

better and more i/o's e.t.c

well, you get the idea.

Rock_Artist 10-08-2000 09:11 AM

Re: Should I buy Digi 001 or Pro Tools|24?
 
>1. ADDA converters on the TDM system are of higher quality, and if you have 888's >all connections are XLR and you have AES/EBU I/O.
True but I assume it would be cheaper to buy A/D converter for ADAT and obtain higher quality by ADAT channels used.

>2.Edit density on TDM is handled by the card it self not your computer.
I don't understand this much. As I know the editing recording and playback use
the computer for data storage please if you can explain further.

>3.TDM plug-ins use farm cards which are also not dependent upon system resources.
Sorry I remembered I've mentioned it.

>4. there are very limited sync options with the 001, so if you are planning to do post
>you may be out of luck.
Post with any PTLE system is impossible in reasonable ways (MTC... Maybe) But for audio if you use Pro Tools systems you record can easily take sessions
from one place to another and have entire thing recorded on LE and additional
recording and editing and full blown TDM.

5. there are a few software differences : ie.LE has no virtual tracks
There is that lack but submix can solve it some times.

6. If sometime in the future you require more track count TDM is expandable, LE is not(at this time)
As the fellow asked he was considered on a simple system and said expandibility
isn't a feature he must have and his questions was about sound quality.
I guess I was wrong in the system quality eventhough I'm sure no one could
distinict if I'll record same input from same place to 001 or TDM.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com