Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   :confused: Pro Tools HD playback thru Mbox/Mbox Micro? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=281551)

JazzBum 09-06-2010 06:17 PM

:confused: Pro Tools HD playback thru Mbox/Mbox Micro?
 
Is it at all possible for Pro Tools HD 8.0.3 to playback through an old school Mbox? I have an Mbox micro that was hoping to use when I'm traveling to edit on flights and such... is that even possible since it's traditionally an LE device?

Also along those same lines... is it possible to connect an original Mbox for the same reasons? More specifically this time though, I am most interested in playing back through good speakers via the stereo outputs on the rear if I'm forced to work away from my studio.

Anyone out there that can point me in a good direction here?

Thanks.

albee1952 09-06-2010 07:07 PM

Re: :confused: Pro Tools HD playback thru Mbox/Mbox Micro?
 
HD is not compatible with any LE interface. You need LE to use withMbox. Note that the original Mbox is not compatible with LE newer than 8.0.1, so a Snow Leopard machine needs to get a newer Mbox 2, Micro, Mini or 2 Pro and use 8.0.4.

CME 09-06-2010 07:27 PM

Re: :confused: Pro Tools HD playback thru Mbox/Mbox Micro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JazzBum (Post 1664218)
Is it at all possible for Pro Tools HD 8.0.3 to playback through an old school Mbox? I have an Mbox micro that was hoping to use when I'm traveling to edit on flights and such... is that even possible since it's traditionally an LE device?

Also along those same lines... is it possible to connect an original Mbox for the same reasons? More specifically this time though, I am most interested in playing back through good speakers via the stereo outputs on the rear if I'm forced to work away from my studio.

Anyone out there that can point me in a good direction here?

Thanks.

As mentioned HD and LE interfaces require separate software. However the sessions created between the 2 are interchangeable. So you can easily work on a session created in HD on an mbox. But as stated the original Mbox has reached it's end of life, so an Mbox 2 would be a better starting point. And would include the PTLE software to use with it. ;)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com