Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=292826)

matocaster1202 01-22-2011 06:37 PM

Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
I am trying to get a motu 828mkii to work with my profire 2626. Has anybody been able to successfully do this? I also have a digimax d8 which is working fine with the 2626. I'm looking to get a total of 24 i/o. Current set up is:

Profire set as master, then the bnc cable going to the 828, out of the 828 into the D8. Then ADAT out of both the D8 and the 828 into the 2626. I'm not getting any sound. I've never had to connect more than 2 devices so I'm wondering if I am doing something wrong with the bnc cables... :confused:

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :-)

Thanks!

ChuckS 01-22-2011 06:59 PM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
The 828mkII doesn't automatically route the analog inputs to the ADAT outputs. You need to setup the routing on the mix buses in CueMix. Set the ouput of mix bus 1 to ADAT 1/2, bring up only faders for analog 1/2 (all others down), pan 1 hard left and pan 2 hard right. Set the output of mixbus 2 to ADAT 3/4 and route analog 3/4, etc.

matocaster1202 01-22-2011 07:35 PM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
Thank you some much for the reply! Should I run the 828 with the firewire or should it be stand alone? I'm assuming that I connect to set it up and then disconnect the firewire.:confused:

I bought the 828 used so I didn't get a manual. I haven't been able to find one online anywhere...

ChuckS 01-23-2011 04:36 AM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
I used to run an 828mkII with a 003r via ADAT before PT went native and it worked great. You should connect it via firewire for the routing setup, but you don't need to disconnect it when you're done. You adjust your input levels, etc. via CueMix when tracking. You can also dial everything in on the front panel, but via GUI is way easier. You can download the 828mk3 manual from the MOTU site to get a basic idea of how the mkII works and I mean basic. The mk3 is way more capable - of course no effects and only 4 mix buses on the mkII. Search the MOTU site tech support for connection advice also. Once you get the mix bus philosophy down, you can get pretty creative with routing stuff between the units.

You can also run it standalone now that PT 9 is native and you can aggregate if you're on a Mac. I haven't done this yet with PT, but I never liked Mac aggregate in other DAWs because of the I/O naming scheme and it presented monitoring issues when trying to monitor thru hardware. I don't think the PC ASIO stuff has an aggregate or multi-interface selection yet, does it? Good luck.

matocaster1202 01-23-2011 11:24 AM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
Thanks for the info ChuckS! I'll post back if I get them all working together. I'm sure someone else out there is trying to do the same thing I am.:-)

Mat

matocaster1202 01-24-2011 09:31 PM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
No luck... The cuemix would reset itself whenever I tried to make changes... And I also discovered that I only have one firewire port.:( Bummer.

ChuckS 01-25-2011 03:29 AM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by matocaster1202 (Post 1742020)
No luck... The cuemix would reset itself whenever I tried to make changes...

Not sure what you mean by this. If you move he faders or pans, they don't hold their settings? They snap back? If so, that I haven't seen before. Maybe try a 'factory reset' before trying again.

As far as one firewire port, you can chain the devices.

matocaster1202 01-25-2011 09:54 PM

Re: Profire 2626 and Motu 828mkii with PT 9
 
Yeah the settings snap back to where they were. I will try to reset it back to factory settings. Thank you again for your help. I am kinda lost with this motu unit. :confused:

Mat


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com