Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Invalid fades on playlist "?" (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=240019)

audiot 02-23-2009 10:32 AM

Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
When I open a PT LE 8 session suddenly following error is reported:

Fade out "Fade CS0vg87PlwSk" at 5:34.875 on playlist "?" is invalid because its left contributor is a fade.
Fade out "Fade pS0vg87PlwSk" at 5:34.875 on playlist "?" is invalid because its left contributor is a fade.

Iīve been working with this session for weeks, without any error!
Suddenly the error appeared out of the blue!
I didīt work in that time area at all!
There is no Fade at this timecode!

I know this issue since PT 7.x
Now we are on Version 8. --------> still unsolved!

This is not the first thread for this problem.

DIGI keeps quiet about it.

So DIGI. What is that? And how can we get rid of it?
Working on large projects really needs confidence in the software weīre using.
You owe us an answer!

DigiTechSupt 02-23-2009 11:21 AM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Have you tried trashing all fade files and let them be recreated? What about trashing prefs or databases yet?

Frank Kruse 02-23-2009 11:47 AM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt (Post 1357551)
Have you tried trashing all fade files and let them be recreated? What about trashing prefs or databases yet?

Normally this didnīt help under 7.4 and before. The only fix is to go to that TC in the timeline and manually delete the fades that "look weird" and then re-create them manually.
Pretty peinfull when you have 100+ tracks in your session. :o

The issue has been around since PT5.1 but got less over the years. Not sure if it got worse in PT8 I havenīt hade the move yet.

frank.

audiot 02-23-2009 12:23 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt (Post 1357551)
Have you tried trashing all fade files and let them be recreated? What about trashing prefs or databases yet?

This all doesnīt help. The flaw seems to be in the session file
After moving to another workstation the same error appears.
(no matter if LE or HD).

@Frank: there is no Fade here at this TC , not even one that looks weird.

Iīve searched the indicated fades in the finder and then trashed it manually.
Now itīs missing in the timeline altough it wasnīt actually there before..
The error remains the same..
..scary!

Frank Kruse 02-23-2009 12:46 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by audiot (Post 1357585)
This all doesnīt help. The flaw seems to be in the session file
After moving to another workstation the same error appears.
(no matter if LE or HD).

@Frank: there is no Fade here at this TC , not even one that looks weird.

Iīve searched the indicated fades in the finder and then trashed it manually.
Now itīs missing in the timeline altough it wasnīt actually there before..
The error remains the same..
..scary!

Yeah, seen that before. Iīve had sessions with major movies that exposed that message every time I opened them. I never cured the error. Nothing helped. But it also didnīt do any harm. I simply got used to it.
Pretty much like those files that always want to be relinked no matter how often you relink them and no matter how often you trash the DBs.
:rolleyes:

frank.

audiot 02-23-2009 01:14 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank Kruse (Post 1357596)
Yeah, seen that before. Iīve had sessions with major movies that exposed that message every time I opened them. I never cured the error. Nothing helped. But it also didnīt do any harm. I simply got used to it.
Pretty much like those files that always want to be relinked no matter how often you relink them and no matter how often you trash the DBs.
:rolleyes:

frank.

yes youīre right. no harm...
......YET!
itīs a question of confidence. Something must be wrong there anyway.
Iīm afraid of another sleeping overkill.
I remember the painful "random edits" issue in 7.3.
:eek:

Matt Stutter 02-23-2009 01:16 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
The fades may've existed at that timecode point earlier in the sessions history tho, check all hours as well (if you've multiple reels in your session). It's like the fade gets it's time stamp from when it was created, and then conforms or edits move it around.

I went through a bunch of sessions last year that were having massive conforms and found these by zooming in like crazy and tabbing my way through each crossfade - eventually I saw a few that were wiggy, fade was still there - but just looked like half of that crossfade was gone from the waveform... recreate the fade and problem solved..

Not a great workaround.... But a tidy session afterwards!

JWalkerPostAudio 02-23-2009 08:46 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
I read this post this morning and what a coincidence i get this message also. I've never had this before. The message says I have an invalid fade at 347222:59.939 on playlist "?".

Wow that's a lot of minutes!

There's no way I can tab through all these. It's a dialogue session of mine and I make lots of surgical fades.

-Justin

Matt Stutter 02-23-2009 09:10 PM

Re: Invalid fades on playlist "?"
 
Fair enough! Mine was an FX predub session, so not quite so many regions ;-)

audiot 02-24-2009 01:58 AM

Crazy workaround
 
problem avoided here (not solved):

@Matt: Right! It's like the fade gets it's time stamp from when it was created, and then conforms or edits move it around.
Donīt take the indicated time seriously!

If the error suddenly appears, the invalid fade should be somewhere in the area where you have worked lastly!
This should make steps 1-2-3 needless.
Anyway, youīll need Steps 1,2,3 if carry that prob for a long time...

Steps:

1-Create a blank session

2-Session import track by track of the corrupted session. (in relink mode)

3-So you will find the track wich causes the error. Memorize it and close and delete the newly created session

4-Go to the finder and find the indicated fades and delete them from your HD.

5-Open your original session.

6-You will be asked what to do with the missing fade.
DONīt recreate fades automatically,
DONīt find automatically because this will cause PT to crash!
Simply choose: Skip all!

7-Now tab the tracks that caused the error and you will easily find the light blue offline fades.

8-Delete and recreate them manually

9-Session clean!

:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com