Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   encoding (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=12543)

soundasylum 06-27-2001 09:13 PM

encoding

Hey gang, I'm new to surround. Just picked up pro control, a/v option and loving them. I will be doing a pilot tv show in surround for cable next month and need some info.

Word is, the producers are asking for all audio on DA88. Is anyone out there doing broadcast audio post and delivering on this format? Is there any encoding necessary and what method...dolby surround or 5.1?

Sorry for the lame questions, but I'd rather ask the obvious here and actually learn something. Thanks for any wisdom you care to impart.

mfife 06-28-2001 03:44 PM

Re: encoding

It sounds like your client probably wants discrete 5.1 tracks on the DA-88, but more info is needed.
Are you delivering elements to a mix? Music predubs? Final Mixes? D,M & E ?

soundasylum 07-04-2001 08:27 PM

Thanks Georgia. Or should I say thanks for making me scaring the bejesus out of me. Post is a scary world. Anyway, I'll attempt to put your wisdom to use and make you proud.

Thanks again.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

georgia 07-05-2001 12:00 AM

you can send the descrete tracks to a DA88 (we us a DA98) BUT heres some tips:

FRIST:
If your sending your mix to a DA88 or a DA98 CHECK the SLOT xcards for proper Level. A DA88 /98 has a set of options that are hardware based on the analog IO Cards.. Make sure you set your IO cards to SMPTE level. The DA88 comes from the factory set for TASCAM level standard.
TASCAM -16 ref
European - 18 ref
SMPTE - 20 ref

Set it for SMPTE -20 ref. On the DA98 its a bunch of jumpers on both INPUT and OUTPUT cards 1 jumper per track and a general card jumper. The details are in the tech manuals.

SECOND: