Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=310006)

EricMulhern 10-24-2011 01:27 PM

Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
Hi, so every time I record something through my mbox 2 mini to my pro tools, the recording sounds really bad, with a crackly noise over everything. If I turn the mix dial on the Mbox all the way to the left, it stops crackling in the direct playback, but the recording and the audio files are still corrupted.

The weird par is that I had it working just fine the day before the problems began, but the next day it didn't work. I screwed around with it and got it to change to this problem instead, but I don't know what I did.

I have tried switching out all the cables, and tried the mbox out with garageband, so I know that the problem is with Pro Tools.

Can someone help me fix this?

DigiTechSupt 10-24-2011 01:58 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
Help Us Help You - READ THIS before posting

EricMulhern 10-26-2011 06:44 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
bump

EricMulhern 10-30-2011 12:09 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
bump

EricMulhern 11-01-2011 12:22 AM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
bump

EricMulhern 11-01-2011 08:27 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
friggin... this forum is useless

Craig F 11-01-2011 08:31 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
no, you were given a list of thing to check and try.
after doning said things you come back with more information.

as it is now no one knows what computer, OS, and PT version you have
all are important factors in diagnosing problems

RTFM 11-01-2011 09:31 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
DigiTechSupt pointed you in the right direction - the forum is only useless if you don't supply enough information for anyone to even have an idea of what they're working with.

Craig F was on the money...!

EricMulhern 11-02-2011 06:13 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
Okay, well nothing on the list was useful at all. also, I thought that by filling out my OS and hardware when I signed up, it would display it, as that is what it said it would do. I guess I was wrong, but then what's the point of filling that out?

I am on an iMac with Snow Leopard Version 10.6.7, with 3.2 GHz Intel Core i3 and 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 Memory. I have Pro Tools 9.02, although I qualify for a free upgrade for Pro Tools 10 (I haven't upgraded yet because there's a good chance that there will be compatibility issues). I have an Mbox 2 Mini, and an AT-2020 Mic. I have tried connecting the mbox through this mic as well as two of my guitars, one of which has the ability to attach through a mic cable.

On two random occasions, the recording worked fine, each through a different guitar connected by a 1/4 inch jack. I didn't do anything different on these occasions.

Any ideas?

RTFM 11-02-2011 07:46 PM

Re: Pro Tools Corrupts My Recordings
 
How do you have the Mbox 2 Mini connected - directly or through a hub? Is there anything else on the USB bus? Did you disable Airport? Trash preferences and databases?

These are all questions that are prompted from the Help Us Help You thread - the more info we have, the easier it is to troubleshoot. Be specific and complete with the information you're providing and there's a much better chance of solving the problem.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com