Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Command 8 monitor section is really noisy (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=298673)

frnak 04-07-2011 05:13 AM

Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
Hi everyone.

I just got a C8, and I love the control side of things on it, but when I use the monitor section, it's noisy as hell. I'm using balanced cables for everything, short runs. Tried lifting the ground on all the equipment. I'm currently just trying it out in my really small home setup, the only equipment I'm using is a small focusrite interface, the C8, and a pair of KRK VXT4 monitors.

With only monitors plugged into the outs, and nothing plugged into the ins, it hums like crazy. Once I plug something into the inputs the hum goes down considerably, but it's still there, and it is way too loud to ignore. It seems to be gettings its ground connections form the input, since the C8 itself isn't grounded. I've tried temporarily lifting the ground on everything, doesn't change. There's no hum in the system if I pull the C8 out of the signal chain.

I've seen plenty of people complain about this, but none of the threads manage to resolve the issue. Do I have any options here? Is the monitor section just of poor quality? I'm not afraid of breaking out the soldering iron if needed...

Chief Pronto 04-07-2011 06:50 AM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
I have one too and have the same issue. I just don't use the monitor section at all on the board, but it would be nice to have the volume knob moved a little closer to me...

AlainZagar 04-07-2011 09:24 AM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
Same experience here too. I tried a lot of different things such as improving system grounding, better cabling etc but nothing really made the noise / hiss / hum go away.

I then discovered that the noise on my unit is there even when you disconnect all analog signal cabling as well as the USB connection. Just the power supply and head phones.

I just stopped using the monitoring section.

Nice control surface though.

frnak 04-07-2011 02:49 PM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AlainZagar (Post 1779241)
Nice control surface though.

It really is, but you'd think that if they include a monitor section at all they'd at least make it usable :confused:

I'll just use the knobs in my interface instead then, I just liked the idea of having that mono button for quick checks...

albee1952 04-09-2011 12:18 PM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
The Presonus Central Station is an elegant solution(plus it adds a bunch of features that you will appreciate).

frnak 04-10-2011 03:17 AM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 1780223)
The Presonus Central Station is an elegant solution(plus it adds a bunch of features that you will appreciate).

Thanks for the suggestion, but the Central Station definitely an overkill for my home setup. I think the M-Patch 2 is what I want...

http://www.smproaudio.com/index.php/...ollers/mpatch2

bonfi64 07-12-2011 05:24 PM

Re: Command 8 monitor section is really noisy
 
i discover the noise two years ago, it's a 60hz hum tipical ground noise, if you ask ti avid or reseller nobody will tell you that C8 is a consumer equipment with a consumer 12v transformer, it's a ground problem built in a 1000 dollars equipment. i try all possible wiring in my studio but the hum still there, i finally bought a presonus central station.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com