Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Markers linked to audio (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=255525)

doesthisexist 09-28-2009 10:00 AM

Markers linked to audio
 
Hi I'm wanting to have markers linked to specific places in an audio track - spoken voice - I want to insert silences at many places within the track but still have the markers corresponding to specific spoken words - I'm not seeing how to do this!!

I've read the chapter on markers over and over again but I must be missing something - no matter what I try the markers stay at the same place on the timeline and don't move with the audio.

Help please, Colin

I'm using 7.3

AndyJCP 09-28-2009 10:04 AM

Re: Markers linked to audio
 
+1

The Weed 09-28-2009 03:43 PM

Re: Markers linked to audio
 
Lets say you have Pro Tools in Shuffle mode and you want to delete a selected section of audio, have everything to the right move up and also have the Markers move up. You have to make the same selection in the Markers Track as in the Audio Track.

Try this:

Place a Marker at the beginning of the section you want to delete - Marker 1 - and a Marker at the end of the section you want to delete - Marker 2. For this purpose, move the track containing the audio you want to delete to the top, right under the Marker Track. Now, click in the Marker Track to the left of Marker 1 so your cursor is blinking in the Marker Track. Tab to Marker 1. Shift Tab to Highlight the space between Marker 1 and Marker 2. Now Hold Down Shift and hit the Semi-Colon Key ";". You should now have the space between Marker 1 and Marker 2 highlighted in the Marker track and in the audio track. Make sure Shuffle is selected and hit Delete. Marker 1 will be deleted as will the space between Marker 1 and Marker 2 and the highlighted audio. Everything to the right on the audio track will move up and Marker 2 will move to Marker 1's position.

Repeat as necessary.

Cheers,

doesthisexist 09-29-2009 03:15 PM

Re: Markers linked to audio
 
Hi Bruce,

Thanks for that - I'm wanting to insert silence between sentences - using your suggestions I've found out that by having another empty track open - making a selection then shift clicking in the Marker Track - Copy and Paste in Shuffle mode at the appropriate place in the Audio track - that does the trick.

Using Insert Silence from the Edit Menu doesn't work.

Anyway I'm now able to do what I need to do and that's the main thing :-)

Thanks again, Colin


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com