Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   bouncing to mp3 or aiff (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=162791)

plasticefx1 03-10-2006 07:11 AM

bouncing to mp3 or aiff
 
hey everyone, i'm new here but have had pro tools since my 6.4 le on my old ibook running 10.3.2. i'm now upgraded to le 7.0 (and wondering if i should upgrade to 7.1), all running on a new powerbook g4 1.67, running ox 10.4.3. (tiger). my question is...should i bounce tracks as aiff files or as mp3 files. (i get messages that in order to bounce as mp3 files i need to upgrade 7.0 as well to allow me to bounce mp3 files). it's not a big deal cause i can bounce as aiff files then add to my itunes library and convert from aiff to mp3 there. which is better to bounce as, aiff or mp3? i've had no problems in the past but now i'm having trouble bouncing old pro-tools tracks i recorded in 6.4 le as aiff files. i have 1 gig of ram installed so i should be screaming. working off an 80 gig harddrive as well. help!!

thx..

plasticefx

(i have to open pro tools 7.0, pull up an old pro tools file from the old 6.4 le recordings, then bounce to my harddrive, then pull into itunes and THEN convert to an mp3 in order to save my old pro tools le 6.4 recordings as new itunes files. help!! also...when i burn to cd, the pro-tools sessions tend to clip, whereas regularly burned store bought cd dont. and i lowered the burn speed to 20x. ok....thanks!!!

grindx 03-10-2006 08:57 AM

Re: bouncing to mp3 or aiff
 
Whether or not to bounce as mp3 vs aiff depends on what you are using them for. Aiff files are an uncompressed format while mp3 files are. Consequently aiff files are much bigger, but are of higher quality. I'm not exactly sure why you are getting an upgrade message because you are able to bounce to mp3 in 7 ans well as 7.1 as long as you have purchased the add on software. You may just need to re-install the mp3 Option and reauthorize it.

I am not sure why your tracks are clipping, but you could just create a master fader and lower it a few db.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com