Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2018 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=157)
-   -   Offline bounce takes forever to start (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=401154)

Protone 09-20-2018 01:25 AM

Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
I have had this issue for years, from PT10 at least, and with many osx versions, but I think it is gone worse now with Protools Ultimate.

When I have a large session and I bounce it, nothing happens for a minute or so. Then the progress bar starts going, and after it's done there is another long pause (20-30s) before Protools is responsive again.

Is this normal? Is the offline bounce really this bad by design? These pauses are there even with light sessions, but they are shorter.

I also use Logic Pro, and no matter how heavy the session is, the bounce starts immediately.

My system: OSX 10.12.6, Mac Pro 5.1, Protools HD Native PCI.

Farhoof 09-20-2018 02:47 AM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
Are you using the rewire plugin to monitor something like soundminer? If so, remove it (restart may be required).

Southsidemusic 09-20-2018 06:04 AM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
Good advice, also what plugins are on the master as i know some izotope plugins and other heavy use ones can start issues but haven’t seen this in a long time. Here it starts asap no matter what session size. Shouldn’t take that long or behave line that.

amagras 09-20-2018 06:45 AM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
I could be wrong but I think Pro Tools need some time after exporting to create the final stereo file, probably more justified if you are working with dual mono stereo files to start with. If you are using plugins with higher levels of oversampling this will definitely increase the export times, sometimes to crazy lengths. The solution for me is to freeze the tracks where I'm using values > x8 as soon as I'm done with them.

originalscottyg 09-20-2018 12:10 PM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
If you are using HDX, Pro Tools takes some time to recreate the mixer and the DSP plugins natively before it can begin bouncing, and again to instantiate all those things on the cards before returning control to PT.

EDIT: It looks like you are using HD Native, so I am not sure this would apply. Certain plugins can make offline bounce take a long time, though. I believe anything Soundtoys is one, and there are probably others.

its2loud 09-21-2018 02:12 PM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Farhoof (Post 2500386)
Are you using the rewire plugin to monitor something like soundminer? If so, remove it (restart may be required).

Amazing! Thank you for this insight. I had posted the same exact question a few days ago and got a rather snarky response about not providing enough information about my system. Im glad to find a solution to a much hated issue.

I deactivated the Soundminer Engine plugin (SM Engine 4.0) in the session and the bounce started right away. No wait time and it was a much faster bounce overall. 9.1x compared to 1.2x previously. Also, there was no hangup when it was done bouncing.

Originally, I had only changed all the plugins to Native but this didnt change anything. So I went back to a DSP/Native combo and just removed the soundminer plug and all was well.

A full Pro Tools restart was required after deactivating the SM plugin. Far less time than waiting for the bounce to start on a long project.

Again, thanking for saving hours of watching the Mac beach ball.

Protone 09-23-2018 08:02 AM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
Thanks for all the replies!

Quote:

Are you using the rewire plugin to monitor something like soundminer? If so, remove it (restart may be required).
Quote:

also what plugins are on the master as i know some izotope plugins and other heavy use ones can start issues but haven’t seen this in a long time.
I am using rewire (sound miner), AND izotope plugins on the master. I'll try removing them first thing tomorrow and see if it makes any difference.

speetman 02-29-2020 11:46 AM

Re: Offline bounce takes forever to start
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Farhoof (Post 2500386)
Are you using the rewire plugin to monitor something like soundminer? If so, remove it (restart may be required).

Thank you Farhoof! This was a mystery to me also. I was using rewire with the Wave Tune plugin. Once I recorded the tuned vocal I removed Rewire and it fixed the problem. Much appreciated.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com