Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   VENUE Live Sound Systems (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=317152)

BadAudioGuy 02-09-2012 06:28 AM

Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Looking at upgrading my current console setup to a Profile Surface with Mix Rack.

With Venue 3 around the corner...My question pertains to the up'ed channel limitation on the Mix Rack (64 to 80). Is it now possible to add an additional mic in card bringing the total to 4 input cards? Or is just an up on the overall processing (48 Mic In, 8 AES, 8 Line in, 16 Stereo EFX)?

Nicolas Lowman 02-09-2012 10:02 AM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Another question regarding Venue 3 and Mix Rack.

Since the input and output cards are the same for both Mix Rack and SC48, when is the Stage 48/AVB going to be compatible with Mix Rack?

doug sjostrom 02-09-2012 12:33 PM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
You can not add another mic input card to the Mix Rack. You can add an I/O 16 which gives you 8 more analog line I/O and 8 more AES digital I/O.

BadAudioGuy 02-09-2012 03:09 PM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Doug,

You could add a IOx Card before the up'in on the channel limitation.

48 Mic In, 8 Line In, 8 AES = 64 Channels

Just trying to understand where the additional 16chs are coming from...

Nicolas Lowman 02-09-2012 03:41 PM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadAudioGuy (Post 1899846)
Just trying to understand where the additional 16chs are coming from...

Different workflows often use multiple processing channels for a single input from the stage. This involves double patching inputs.

One example of this would be when the desk is used for monitors and FOH simultaneously. This allows you to process an input differently for different uses.

Another example is for a center vocal in monitor world. There could be one channel that is driving wedges and another to drive IEM.

Sometimes a center vocalist wants to hear a vocal one way in their ears and the band needs something more compressed that keeps it loud enough for them to hear the quiet parts, but not blow them away during the loud parts. Patching the same input to multiple processing channels is often an ideal way of accomplishing this.

There are other times when you might want to have a clean and a dirty of the same input. For instance you could patch the DI input of a Bass guitar to two different channels. One might be fairly clean and transparent while the other has an amp modeling plugin on it. Mixing the two together creates a different sound.

More processing channels allow for more flexibility in accomplishing the tasks at hand.

Kenmillerjr 02-10-2012 09:51 AM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Don't forget the FX returns as well...

doug sjostrom 02-10-2012 01:21 PM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
They are software only. Ken and Nicolas give some good examples as to how you might want to use them.

digidesigner 02-11-2012 09:11 AM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nicolas Lowman (Post 1899858)
One might be fairly clean and transparent while the other has an amp modeling plugin on it. Mixing the two together creates a different sound.

Yes it really does, but bad comb-filtering type of sound :D

I would really like to see some type of selective delay compensation on next gen. desks, where for example, channels sharing the same input would be kept sample-accurate @ output(s).

Nicolas Lowman 02-11-2012 11:12 AM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by digidesigner (Post 1900492)
Yes it really does, but bad comb-filtering type of sound :D

This is place where you would need to manually compensate for the the delay offset between the two channels. Trootrace works fine for this. Pull up a transfer between the two channels and add delay until the phase trace lines up. It would be nice if it was automated, but it is very doable.

danymeeuwissen 02-11-2012 12:50 PM

Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nicolas Lowman (Post 1900530)
This is place where you would need to manually compensate for the the delay offset between the two channels. Trootrace works fine for this. Pull up a transfer between the two channels and add delay until the phase trace lines up. It would be nice if it was automated, but it is very doable.

An easier way, right click on the input screen in the grey area above the inserts (upper right), and it will show you the total delay of the plugins inserted on that channel (in samples).
Just type in that same amount of samples on the parallel channel and you' re set.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com